月光族

一家软件公司雇用了一名远程全职IT专家。管理层对他前几周的工作很满意,因为事实证明他非常专业、勤奋和有创造力。

然而,三个月后,这位新专家的参与度开始下降。开始是小事:这位专家在工作时间花了几个小时来回复他同事的信息,并且经常在放大会议上迟到。该员工经常听起来很疲惫,对电话不感兴趣,而且没有表现出主动性。他的经理担心,这些可能是职业倦怠的最初迹象。然而,这位IT专家向她保证,他很好,但一直错过重要的电话和信息。

该员工的工作效率继续下降。他开始请病假或以牵强附会的借口请假,有时一周几次。当他未能在一个关键的最后期限前完成任务,并试图将其归咎于与他们一起工作的同事时,管理层决定调查这种行为的原因。

该专家使用公司拥有的笔记本电脑进行工作。在该员工到办公室的一次访问中,经理在其设备上安装了CleverControl。可疑行为的迹象几乎立即出现了。该专家有一个固定的工作时间表,但用户活动报告显示他在应该工作的时候长期不在电脑前。在分析他的Whatsapp日志时,经理发现了一个与该公司的IT专家正在从事的项目类似的讨论。该项目是最新的功能,将使该公司的产品从竞争对手中脱颖而出。更令人震惊的是,该员工正在与竞争对手公司的一名高级开发人员讨论这个项目。这位经理认识这位开发人员,因为几个月前他曾试图挖走他。经过几周的实时监控和屏幕截图,没有任何怀疑的余地--该专家正在为竞争对手做一个类似的项目。显然,他一开始是用自己的个人电脑做这个副业。后来,他放松了警惕,漫不经心地用公司的设备进行这两个项目的工作。

经理进一步致电竞争对手的人力资源专家。他了解到,他们是在该员工在经理的公司得到工作三个月后才雇用他的--正是该员工的生产力开始下降的时候。这位IT专家同时为两家公司工作,这也是他请假时间奇怪和不能在最后期限前完成工作的原因。更糟糕的是,他在分享两家公司的最佳实践和机密信息--这一切都是为了钱。他觉得第一家公司的一份工资对他来说是不够的,所以他在这家公司找到了一个类似的职位,从事相同领域的工作。他认为他可以同时做相同的任务,并获得两倍的钱。这个计划将是完美的,但CleverControl帮助揭示了它。

Moonlighter

A software company hired a remote full-time IT specialist. The management was content with his work for the first weeks, as he proved exceptionally professional, diligent and creative.

However, after three months, the new specialist's involvement began decreasing. It started small: the specialist took hours to reply to his colleagues' messages during work time and was often late for Zoom meetings. The employee frequently sounded tired and uninterested in calls and showed no initiative. His manager worried that those could be the first signs of burnout. However, the IT specialist assured her he was fine but kept missing important calls and messages.

The employee's productivity continued to decrease. He began calling in sick or asking for days off under far-fetched pretexts, sometimes several times a week. When he failed to meet a crucial deadline and tried to blame it on his colleague with whom they worked on the task, the management decided to investigate the reasons for such behaviour.

The specialist used a company-owned laptop for work. During one of the employee's visits to the office, the manager installed CleverControl on his device. The signs of suspicious behaviour popped up almost immediately. The specialist had a fixed work schedule, but user activity reports showed his long absence from the computer when he was supposed to be working. Analyzing his Whatsapp logs, the manager found a discussion of a project similar to the one the IT specialist was working on in that company. The project in question was the newest feature that would make the company's product stand out from its competitors. What was more alarming, the employee was discussing it with a senior developer from a competitor company. The manager knew that developer because he tried to poach him several months ago. A few weeks of monitoring Live Viewing and screenshots left no room for doubt - the specialist was working on a similar project for the competitors. Apparently, he was using his personal computer for the side project at first. Later, he relaxed and carelessly worked on both projects using the corporate device.

The manager went further and called the competitor's HR specialist. He learned that they hired the employee in question three months after he got the job at the manager's company - just when the employee's productivity started to dwindle. The IT specialist was working for both companies simultaneously, which was the reason for odd days off and failure to meet the deadlines. Worse, he was sharing both companies' best practices and confidential information - all for money. He felt that one salary in the first company was not enough for him, so he found a similar position in the company working in the same field. He thought he could do the identical tasks simultaneously and receive twice the money. The scheme would be perfect, but CleverControl helped to reveal it.