اعمل أقل ولكن بكفاءة أكبر: هل هذا ممكن؟

اعمل أقل ولكن بكفاءة أكبر: هل هذا ممكن؟

يتحدث العالم عن (وهناك من يطبق بالفعل) أسبوع عمل لمدة أربعة أيام منذ فترة طويلة. يتحدث المعارضون عن خسائر هائلة للشركات والاقتصادات بشكل عام.

يقول مؤيدو الفكرة أن الموظفين مستعدون للعمل لفترة أطول وبكفاءة أكبر في أيام العمل الأربعة المتبقية من أجل يوم عطلة إضافي في الأسبوع.

بصفتي رئيس شركة مطورة لنظام التحكم في الوقت، أنا متأكد من أنه يمكن أن يزيد من كفاءة العمل. ومع ذلك، ليس بقدر ما يمكن أن يفرغ يوم عمل كامل.

مكان العمل بيئة ديناميكية تتغير فيها الظروف والتحديات باستمرار. لم تكن حاجة الموظفين إلى التحلي بالمرونة وسعة الحيلة والقدرة على التكيف أكبر من أي وقت مضى.

ومع ذلك، تستمر العديد من المنظمات في تعزيز طريقة عمل ليست قديمة فحسب بل غير ضرورية أيضًا. فالعمل بجدية أكبر والعمل بجدية أكبر هما عنصران أساسيان في الحياة المهنية الناجحة. وهو أمر يواصل الكثير من الناس التأكيد عليه مع زملائهم. لقد تم تكييفنا على الاعتقاد بأن الأشخاص الأكثر إنتاجية الذين يعملون لساعات طويلة قد أغفلوا عوامل الإنتاجية الأخرى. فالعمل الجاد يحقق نتائج، لكن العمل بذكاء له قيمة دائمة.

وينطبق هذا الأمر بشكل خاص في العمل، حيث يكون الحفاظ على القدرة التنافسية أمرًا بالغ الأهمية للنجاح. وبما أنه لا يمكن لأحد أن يعمل على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع، فإليك ثلاث استراتيجيات بسيطة لزيادة الإنتاجية في العمل وتحقيق التوازن في حياتك خارجه.

ما هي الإنتاجية بالضبط؟

Being productive is defined as "having the quality or power of creating especially in plenty" by the dictionary. Similarly to how "efficiency" is a measure of how efficient a firm is, "productivity" is merely a measure of how productive a company is.

يسعى المهتمون بالإنتاجية إلى تحقيق أقصى قدر من الإنتاج بالموارد المتاحة لهم. على سبيل المثال، إذا كانت لديهم ميزانية ضخمة، فإنهم سيسعون إلى إنجاز أكبر قدر ممكن من الأعمال. وحتى إذا كانت ميزانيتهم محدودة، فسوف يسعون إلى إنجاز أكبر عدد ممكن من الأعمال.

أصبح العمل أقل من أي وقت مضى أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى في اقتصاد المعرفة اليوم. ومع ذلك، يشعر عدد متزايد من البالغين العاملين بالضغط للعمل لفترة أطول وأكثر من أي وقت مضى. في المتوسط، يعمل العامل الأمريكي العادي 40 ساعة في الأسبوع، ولكن ما يقرب من ثلث البالغين يعملون 45 ساعة أو أكثر كل أسبوع.

يقضي الشخص البالغ العامل في المتوسط حوالي 47 ساعة أسبوعيًا في العمل والتنقل معًا. وهذا يترك القليل من الوقت لأي شيء آخر. لا يقتصر العمل الأقل على التمتع بحياة متوازنة فحسب، بل يتعلق أيضًا بأن نكون أكثر إنتاجية وإنجاز المزيد من المهام مع قضاء وقت أقل في أنشطة لا ترتبط مباشرة بأهدافنا المهنية.

العمل بكفاءة يعني تحديد المجالات التي يمكن أن تكون فيها أكثر إنتاجية. العمل بذكاء يعني تحسين وقتك وجهودك لإنجاز المزيد من الأعمال في نفس الفترة الزمنية. إليك بعض النصائح حول كيفية العمل بشكل أقل ولكن بكفاءة وفعالية أكبر:

يجب تحديد أولويات المهام

يجب تحديد أولويات مشاريع العمل بناءً على حجم العمل الذي تنطوي عليه وكذلك تواريخ الاستحقاق المتوقعة. خصص وقتًا كافيًا لكل مشروع، ولكن ضع لنفسك مؤقتًا كتحدٍ لإكمال العمل بشكل أسرع.

Do not switch from one work to another. Concentrate on one task at a time, employing the productivity approach known as "chunking," and allow yourself to get engrossed in accomplishing good work. Take a break and switch gears to a different type of job when the timer goes off to keep yourself focused.

تُعد معرفة مهمتك في العمل أحد أهم العناصر في أن تصبح فعالاً تماماً. ففي النهاية، كيف يمكنك تحديد الأولويات المناسبة إذا كنت لا تعرف ما هي مهمتك في العمل؟ (إذا لم تحدد الأولويات، فستكون مدفونًا على الدوام في كومة من الأعمال، غير قادر على تحديد ما هو مهم وما هو غير مهم).

قم بإجراء تحليل وظيفي لتحديد الهدف الحقيقي من عملك والأهداف التي يجب أن تحققها للتقدم. سيساعدك ذلك في تحديد أهدافك الأكثر أهمية بحيث يمكنك البدء في تحديد أولويات العمل بكفاءة.

تقليل المشتتات

عند العمل على المهام، احرص على تقليل المشتتات إلى الحد الأدنى. خفض مستوى صوت هاتفك وإبقائه بعيدًا عن الأنظار. أوقف تشغيل أي ضوضاء أخرى، مثل برامج التلفاز أو الموسيقى، التي تتداخل مع قدرتك على التركيز في عملك. ضع توقعاتك مع زملائك في العمل

تقسيم المشاريع الكبيرة

قد يبدو المشروع الكبير أكبر من أن تتحمله. على الرغم من أنك تعلم أنه أمر حيوي، إلا أنك تستمر في نقله إلى أسفل الكومة. بدلاً من تجنبه، حاول تقسيم تلك المهمة الكبيرة إلى أعمال أصغر. اختر حفنة منها لإنهائها خلال الأسبوع وجدولتها في جدولك الزمني. فمعرفتك بأنك تحرز تقدمًا نحو هدف كبير سيحفزك على إكمال واجباتك الأخرى.

لا تتجنب التفاعل مع زملائك في العمل، ولكن احرص على أن يقتصر ذلك على فترات الاستراحة لمنع التنقل بين العمل واللعب.

العمل أقل

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعمل بنجاح، فإن مقدار الجهد الذي تبذله في مشروع ما لا يعني تلقائيًا مخرجات عالية الجودة. إذا كنت تستغرق وقتًا طويلاً لإكمال الأعمال لأنك مرهق أو مشتت الذهن أو غير منظم، فهذا مؤشر واضح على أنك تعمل بجهد كبير.

أن تكون عاملًا فعالاً ومنتجًا يستلزم تحديد أولويات مهامك وإعطاء الوقت الكافي لإتمامها بشكل مناسب. ستؤدي عادات العمل الجيدة إلى نتائج إيجابية ومتسقة. الخطوة الأكثر أهمية التي يمكنك اتخاذها نحو العمل بكفاءة أكبر هي وضع استراتيجية يومية.

اطلب المساعدة من زملائك في العمل.

العمل مع الآخرين هو أحد أفضل الطرق لإنجاز المزيد من الأعمال في وقت أقل. تشير الدراسات إلى أن الناس يعملون بكفاءة أكبر عندما يعملون في مجموعات. عندما تعمل في مجموعات، يمكنك مشاركة الأفكار والآراء ووجهات النظر، وهي طريقة رائعة لتبادل الأفكار ووجهات النظر، وهي طريقة رائعة لتبادل الأفكار حول طرق جديدة للتفكير في مشكلة ما.

يمكنك أيضًا أن تعرض مساعدة زملائك في العمل في مهامهم عندما تكون متقدمًا على جدول أعمالك. عندما تساعد زملاءك في العمل، لن تساهم فقط في توفير بيئة عمل أكثر صحة، ولكنك ستعمل أيضًا بشكل أقل. وذلك لأن مساعدة الآخرين ستوفر وقتك حتى تتمكن من التركيز على عملك.

خذ فترات راحة أكثر

إن العمل لفترات طويلة دون أخذ أي استراحات سيجعلك أقل إنتاجية وأقل تركيزًا وأكثر عرضة لارتكاب الأخطاء. سيكون من المفيد أن تأخذ استراحة من عملك كل بضع ساعات.

ومع ذلك، لن تفي أي استراحة بالغرض. سيكون من المفيد أن تجد طرقًا للراحة والاسترخاء مع الاستمرار في التركيز على عملك. تتمثل إحدى طرق القيام بذلك في ضبط مؤقت لمدة 20 دقيقة والقيام بشيء لا علاقة له بعملك تمامًا.

على سبيل المثال، يمكنك الاستماع إلى الموسيقى أو المشي في الخارج أو الجلوس والتنفس. سيساعدك ذلك على الاسترخاء ومنح عقلك الوقت لمعالجة المعلومات وتطوير أفكار واستراتيجيات جديدة تساعدك على العمل بكفاءة أكبر.

الكفاءة والإنتاجية

أهم شيء يمكنك القيام به لزيادة إنتاجيتك في العمل هو تطوير مهارات إدارة الوقت. فبدون ذلك، ستشعر أن أيامك ستبدو وكأنها سباق محموم، حيث يتنافس كل مشروع وبريد إلكتروني ومكالمة هاتفية على جذب انتباهك.

ابدأ بإلقاء نظرة على جدولك اليومي. هل تعرف كيف تقضي وقتك بشكل يومي؟ إذا لم تكن تعرف، فقد تفاجئك الإجابة.

بمجرد أن تعرف مقدار الوقت الذي تخصصه لكل مهمة، يجب أن تتعلم كيفية تحديد أولوياتها. ستتمكن من التركيز على الأعمال التي تضيف القيمة الأكبر إذا كنت تعرف ما هي المهام المهمة وأيها يمكن إعادة جدولتها أو تفويضها.

تحديد الأهداف هو جانب آخر مهم للعمل بشكل منتج. بعد إجراء التحليل الوظيفي، يجب أن تكون لديك فكرة جيدة عما يستلزمه دورك. ضع أهدافًا قصيرة وطويلة الأجل باستخدام هذه المعرفة. وتتمثل فائدة القيام بذلك في أن أهدافك بمثابة خريطة طريق - ففي النهاية، لن تصل إلى أي مكان إذا لم تكن تعرف إلى أين أنت ذاهب!

يتطلب العمل بفعالية وإنتاجية أيضًا تنظيمًا جيدًا. إذا كنت غير منظم، فقد تضيع الكثير من الوقت في البحث عن أشياء في غير محلها. لذا تعلّم كيفية ترتيب الملفات بشكل صحيح وكيفية وضع جدول زمني فعال.

قدرات التواصل

ضع في اعتبارك مدى تواتر حديثنا على أساس يومي. فنحن نجري المكالمات الهاتفية، ونحضر الاجتماعات، ونكتب رسائل البريد الإلكتروني، ونقدم العروض التقديمية، ونتفاعل مع العملاء، من بين أمور أخرى. قد يبدو أننا نقضي اليوم بأكمله في التحدث مع الآخرين من حولنا. هذا هو السبب في أن مهارات التواصل الرائعة أمر بالغ الأهمية، خاصة إذا كنت ترغب في العمل بكفاءة أكبر.

ابدأ بشحذ قدراتك على الاستماع النشط. وهذا يشير إلى أنك تبذل جهدًا متضافرًا لسماع وفهم ما يتحدث به الآخرون إليك.

الخاتمة

قد يكون العمل بشكل أقل وبكفاءة أكبر أمرًا صعبًا، لكنه ممكن إذا حافظت على تركيزك واتبعت هذه النصائح. إن العمل لساعات أقل لا يعني فقط العمل لساعات أقل؛ بل يعني العمل بكفاءة أكبر حتى تتمكن من إنجاز المزيد في وقت أقل.

أن تكون أكثر كفاءة يعني تحديد المجالات التي يمكنك أن تكون فيها أكثر إنتاجية. العمل بذكاء يعني تحسين وقتك وجهودك لإنجاز المزيد من الأعمال في نفس الفترة الزمنية.

Here are some other interesting articles:

Work less but more efficiently: is it possible?

The world has been talking about (and someone is already implementing) a four-day work week for a long time. Opponents talk about enormous losses for companies and economies in general.

Adherents of the idea say that employees are ready to work longer and more efficiently in the remaining four working days for the sake of an extra day off per week.

As the head of a time control system developer company, I am sure it can increase work efficiency. However, not so much as to free a whole working day.

The workplace is a dynamic environment where conditions and challenges are constantly changing. The need for employees to be flexible, resourceful, and adaptable has never been greater.

Yet, many organizations continue to reinforce a way of working that is not only outdated but also unnecessary. Working more and working harder are staples of a successful career. It is something that many people continue to stress with their colleagues. We’ve been conditioned to believe that the most productive people who work long hours have overlooked other productivity factors. Working hard produces results but working smart has lasting value.

This is especially true in work, where staying competitive is paramount to success. Since no one can work 24/7, here are three simple strategies to increase productivity at work and balance your life outside of it.

What Exactly Is Productivity?

Being productive is defined as "having the quality or power of creating especially in plenty" by the dictionary. Similarly to how "efficiency" is a measure of how efficient a firm is, "productivity" is merely a measure of how productive a company is.

Those concerned with productivity strive to maximize output with the resources at their disposal. For example, if they have a huge budget, they will aim to create as much work as feasible. Even if they have a limited budget, they will endeavor to complete as many jobs as possible.

Working less has become more critical than ever in today’s knowledge economy. However, a growing number of working adults feel the pressure to work longer and harder than ever. On average, the typical American worker puts in 40 hours a week, but almost one-third of adults work 45 hours or more each week.

The average working adult spends about 47 hours a week at work and commuting combined. That leaves little time for anything else. Working less is not only about having a balanced life but also about being more productive and getting more things done with less time spent on activities that aren’t directly related to our professional goals.

Working efficiently means identifying areas where you can be more productive. Working smart means optimizing your time and efforts to get more done in the same amount of time. Here are some tips on how you can work less but more efficiently and effectively:

Tasks should be prioritized

Work projects should be prioritized based on the amount of work involved as well as the expected due dates. Allow enough time for each project, but set a timer for yourself as a challenge to complete the work faster.

Do not switch from one work to another. Concentrate on one task at a time, employing the productivity approach known as "chunking," and allow yourself to get engrossed in accomplishing good work. Take a break and switch gears to a different type of job when the timer goes off to keep yourself focused.

Knowing your mission at work is one of the most important elements in becoming totally effective. After all, how can you set suitable priorities if you don't know what your job is all about? (If you don't set priorities, you'll be perpetually buried in a pile of work, unable to tell what's important and what isn't.)

Perform a job analysis to determine the real goal of your employment and the objectives you must meet to advance. This will assist you in identifying your most critical goals so that you may begin efficiently prioritizing work.

Reduce Distractions

When working on assignments, strive to keep distractions to a minimum. Reduce the volume on your phone and keep it out of sight. Turn off any other noise, such as television programs or music, that interferes with your ability to concentrate on your work. Set expectations with your coworkers

Divide Large Projects

A large project may appear to be too much to handle. Even though you know it's vital, you keep moving it to the bottom of the pile. Instead of avoiding it, try dividing that large assignment into smaller chores. Choose a handful to finish during the week and schedule them into your schedule. The knowledge that you are making progress toward a large objective will motivate you to complete your other duties.

Don't avoid interacting with your coworkers, but limit it to break periods to prevent bouncing back and forth between work and play.

Work Less

When it comes to working successfully, the amount of effort you put into a project does not automatically imply a high-quality output. If you take too long to complete chores because you're weary, distracted, or unorganized, it's a clear indication that you're working too hard.

Being an effective and productive worker entails prioritizing your task and giving enough time to complete it appropriately. Good work habits will result in positive, consistent results. The most crucial step you can take toward working more efficiently is to create a daily strategy.

Ask for help from your co-workers.

Working with others is one of the best ways to get more done in less time. Studies show that people work more efficiently when they work in groups. When you work in groups, you can share ideas, thoughts, and perspectives, which is a great way to brainstorm new ways of thinking about a problem.

You can also offer to help your co-workers with their tasks when you’re ahead of schedule. When you help your co-workers, you’ll not only be contributing to a healthier work environment, but you’ll also be working less. That’s because helping others will free up your time so you can focus on your work.

Take breaks more often

Working for long periods without taking any breaks will make you less productive, less focused, and more prone to making mistakes. It would help if you took a break from your work every few hours.

However, not just any break will do. It would help if you found ways to rest and relax while staying focused on your work. One way to do this is to set a timer for 20 minutes and do something completely unrelated to your work.

For example, you could listen to music, take a walk outside, or sit and breathe. This will help you relax and give your brain time to process information and develop new ideas and strategies that will help you work more efficiently.

Efficiency and Productivity

The most important thing you can do to increase your productivity at work is to develop time management skills. Without it, your days would feel like a frenzied sprint, with each project, email, and phone call vying for your attention.

Begin by taking a look at your daily schedule. Do you know how you spend your time on a daily basis? If you don't, the answer may surprise you.

Once you know how much time you devote to each task, you must learn how to prioritize them. You'll be able to focus on the work that adds the most value if you know which jobs are critical and which can be rescheduled or delegated.

Setting goals is another crucial aspect of working productively. After conducting a Job Analysis, you should have a good idea of what your role entails. Set short and long-term goals using this knowledge. The benefit of doing so is that your goals serve as a road map - after all, you won't get anywhere if you don't know where you're going!

Working effectively and productively also requires a good organization. If you're unorganized, you can waste a lot of time looking for misplaced stuff. So learn how to correctly file and how to make an effective schedule.

Communication Abilities

Consider how frequently we converse on a daily basis. We make phone calls, attend meetings, compose emails, deliver presentations, and interact with clients, among other things. We can appear to spend the entire day conversing with others around us. This is why great communication skills are crucial, especially if you want to operate more efficiently.

Begin by honing your active listening abilities. This indicates that you are making a concerted effort to hear and comprehend what others are speaking to you.

Conclusion

Working less and more efficiently can be challenging, but it’s possible if you stay focused and follow these tips. Working less doesn’t just mean working fewer hours; it means working more efficiently so you can get more done in less time.

Being more efficient means identifying areas where you can be more productive. Working smart means optimizing your time and efforts to get more done in the same amount of time.