استخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي والتعلم الآلي لمراقبة الموظفين

تحديات إدارة فريق متعدد الجنسيات عن بُعد وكيفية التغلب عليها

في عام 2022، ذكرت شركة IBM أن حوالي 35% من الشركات had adopted AI, and another 42% were "exploring" it. The word "exploring" has an important connotation here.

في كثير من الأحيان، هناك الكثير من الأمور التي يجب على الشركات أخذها في الاعتبار عندما يتعلق الأمر بإصلاح أنظمتها وعملياتها. وعلى هذا النحو، غالباً ما يتم ترك وظائف واسعة النطاق مثل مراقبة الموظفين والاستمرار في الاعتماد على البنية التحتية القديمة.

ولكن الأمور تغيرت كثيراً في العام الماضي أو نحو ذلك. يمكن أن يُعزى الكثير إلى النمو في حلول الذكاء الاصطناعي التوليدي (Gen AI). ماكينزي calls 2023 as "Generative AI's breakout year." The consulting giant says that companies using gen AI for performance management and organisation design are already ahead of their competitors.

عند الحديث عن تأثير الذكاء الاصطناعي على إدارة أداء القوى العاملة، فإن إحدى وظائف الأعمال التي تستفيد بشكل كبير هي مراقبة الموظفين.

الاستفادة من مراقبة الموظفين القائمة على الذكاء الاصطناعي

Moving from "Just" Surveillance to Performance Optimisation

لفترة طويلة، اقتصرت وظائف مراقبة الموظفين لفترة طويلة على تسجيل بيانات باردة إلى حد ما قد تناسب مقاييس معينة (مثل عدد ساعات العمل). وتفتقر هذه البيانات إلى السياق الخاص بكيفية (كيفية) وأسباب (أسباب) مشاركة الموظفين وأدائهم.

In other words, there's no qualitative aspect that could unearth the root causes for the drop in productivity or other anomalous work patterns. AI helps solve this problem by helping move from "cold data" to "insights." With AI, the employee monitoring function becomes more oriented towards deciphering work habits, productivity, strengths, weaknesses, etc.

على سبيل المثال، ضع في اعتبارك حالة فريق تطوير برمجيات يستخدم حلاً تقليديًا لمراقبة الموظفين لتحسين الأداء. توفر الأداة البيانات الخاصة بعدد التزامات التعليمات البرمجية أو الساعات المسجلة. ولكن، هذا لا يعكس مدى تعقيد المهمة المطروحة، ومستوى التعاون الذي كان ضروريًا، والمخالفات التي يمكن أن تظهر.

لنفترض الآن نفس السيناريو، ولكن الفريق يستخدم حلاً لمراقبة الموظفين مدعوماً بالذكاء الاصطناعي. تقوم المنصة بكل ما يقوم به الحل التقليدي، ولكنها توفر أيضاً نظرة ثاقبة لأنماط التواصل، ومستوى التعاون، وكفاءة حل المشكلات، وآلية التغذية الراجعة، وما إلى ذلك.

كيف؟ من خلال ملاحظة كل التفاصيل الصغيرة حول العمل والكشف عن الأنماط التي يمكن أن تساعد في صياغة أفضل الممارسات للتحسين. على سبيل المثال، يمكن لنظام الذكاء الاصطناعي أن ينقل ما إذا كانت التزامات مطور معين بالرموز البرمجية لا تستلزم إصلاحات لاحقة للأخطاء. يمكن إنشاء عملية المطور كأفضل ممارسة.

وبالمثل، يمكن للنظام المساعدة في فهم ما إذا كانت إنتاجية المطور منخفضة خلال وقت محدد من اليوم. وبهذه الطريقة، يمكن للفريق إعادة توزيع العمل وفهم أنماط العمل بشكل أفضل.

Making "Data Security" the Front and Centre

هناك الكثير من الحديث عن الآثار الأمنية المترتبة على حلول مراقبة الموظفين، وهذا أمر مفهوم. نحن نتحدث عن مراقبة الأشخاص وأنشطة عملهم اليومية. لذلك، لا بد أن تكون هناك مخاوف - وهذا هو بالضبط سبب وضع لوائح مثل اللائحة العامة لحماية البيانات في أوروبا (GDPR).

بالطبع، هناك بالطبع الزاوية التوافقية لهذه القصة. لكننا نركز فقط على الجانب التكنولوجي في الوقت الحالي. ولتحقيق هذه الغاية، يوفر تكامل الذكاء الاصطناعي العديد من المزايا للمؤسسات من حيث:

  • تعلم السلوك النموذجي للمستخدم واكتشاف أي شيء شاذ عن ذلك
  • فهم أنماط الوصول إلى البيانات الحساسة والإبلاغ عن أي أنشطة تبدو غير عادية
  • إعداد تنبيهات تلقائية للحوادث الأمنية المشتبه بها والسماح لفرق الأمن باتخاذ إجراءات استباقية بدلاً من اللجوء إلى التحليل بعد الوفاة
  • الكشف عن أي أنشطة تهديد من الداخل من خلال التأكد من أن أي شيء يخرج عن نمط العمل المعتاد يتم ملاحظته على الفور
  • حظر نقل أي معلومات حساسة داخل شبكة الشركة وخارجها

دعونا نحدد هذه القدرات لفهم قيمتها الملموسة. خلال الأيام الأولى من الإغلاق الذي فرضته جائحة كوفيد-19 في عام 2020، كان العاملون عن بُعد يتعرضون باستمرار لهجمات من قبل المستخدمين الخبيثين. ديلويت عن زيادة قدرها خمسة أضعاف، من 12% إلى 60% في الهجمات على العاملين عن بُعد خلال هذه الفترة.

وفي أماكن أخرى، وصلت تكلفة التهديدات الداخلية إلى 15.38 مليون دولار في عام 2022. أشار تقرير خاص بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية إلى أن الشركات تتعرض لحوالي 2,200 هجوم أمني داخلي يوميًا.

So, what would be the ideal AI-employee monitoring solution in the wake of looming cyber threats? By keeping "security" at the forefront. CleverControl's Face Recognition feature is one such AI-powered surveillance solution that makes for better data and employee security.

لقد استطلعنا آراء العديد من المديرين التنفيذيين وفهمنا أنهم كانوا يكافحون من أجل:

  • منع الأشخاص من السماح لشخص خارجي بالتستر على عملهم
  • التأكد من أن الموظفين لم يكونوا يغشون من خلال فتح تطبيقات الإنتاجية وأنهم كانوا يحضرون بالفعل إلى مكتب عملهم عند العمل عن بُعد

ومن ثم، أحضرنا التعرف على الوجه ميزة لحل المراقبة الخاص بنا، والذي يمكنه تسجيل الموظفين (من خلال التقاط صورة كل خمس ثوانٍ) وضمان عدم قيام أي جهة غير مصرح لها بالترفيه عن عمل الموظف. وقد أثبت ذلك أنه حل قابل للتطبيق بالنسبة للعديد من المؤسسات، خاصةً تلك التي تعمل في صناعات شديدة التنظيم نسبيًا مثل القطاع المالي.

تحسين حياة الموظفين حرفيًا

تشدد الشركات على أن الموظفين هم أثمن أصولها، لكن ذلك لا ينعكس في بعض الأحيان على أرض الواقع. قد تكون الأسباب متعددة، منها أسباب لا علاقة لها بالأنظمة والتكنولوجيا. ومن أجل هذا الحوار، سنتجنب تلك الأسباب. دعونا نركز على الموانع التشغيلية والتكنولوجية.

في كثير من الأحيان، قد تؤدي الاختناقات التشغيلية إلى إرهاق الموظفين، وتقييمات الأداء غير العادلة، وغير ذلك. لكن الذكاء الاصطناعي يأتي للإنقاذ بمجموعة من الفوائد. على سبيل المثال، يمكن أن تساعد المراقبة المدعومة بالذكاء الاصطناعي:

  • توزيع أعباء العمل وفقاً لكفاءة عمل الفريق أو الفرد. يمكن للفرق فهم أنماط العمل وطلب اقتراحات من الذكاء الاصطناعي حول إعادة توزيع العمل بشكل استراتيجي.
  • تقديم ملاحظات مخصصة بناءً على إنتاجية الموظف وأنماط مشاركته. يمكن أن يكون ذلك بسيطًا مثل تقديم تنبيه لتحسين المشاركة على قنوات معينة أو التوصية بسلسلة كاملة من الدورات التدريبية للنمو المهني.
  • قياس مشاعر الموظفين من خلال أنماط تواصلهم عبر القنوات الداخلية أو الاجتماعية التي تتم مراقبتها. من المؤكد أن النماذج اللغوية الكبيرة (LLMs) التي تشغل حلول الذكاء الاصطناعي التوليدي يمكن أن تكون نعمة للشركات التي ترغب في الوصول إلى فهم ما يحبه الموظفون وما لا يحبونه. يمكن أن يساعد ذلك في تنبيه المديرين إلى العوائق المحتملة في الإنتاجية واتخاذ إجراءات استباقية للتفاعل الشخصي مع الموظفين أو ربما حتى تعديل ظروف العمل من أجل الصالح العام.

في حين أن هذا لا يتناسب مع حالة استخدام SaaS المعتادة، إلا أن مراقبة الموظفين التي تعتمد على الذكاء الاصطناعي تحدث أيضًا في البيئات الصناعية. خذ على سبيل المثال التحليلات المرئية المدعومة بالرؤية الحاسوبية داخل المصانع حيث يمكن تنبيه الموظفين على الفور بشأن الكوارث المحتملة أو منعهم من دخول مرافق معينة.

تحديات إدارة فريق متعدد الجنسيات عن بُعد وكيفية التغلب عليها

التحديات والخلافات

سيكون من الظلم عدم تحديد المشاعر العامة المرتبطة بالاستخدام المتزايد للذكاء الاصطناعي لمراقبة الموظفين. وهناك أسباب لذلك.

وفقاً لـ استطلاع مركز بيو للأبحاث ، قال 81% من المشاركين في الاستطلاع إن الموظفين لن يشعروا بالرضا عن المراقبة أو التقييم غير اللائق باستخدام الذكاء الاصطناعي.

رويترز also raises questions about excessive AI-based employee monitoring, citing that "Many employees and privacy rights advocates see this as an unreasonable incursion into an employee's home, long considered to be their private sphere."

بصرف النظر عن هذا، هناك قلق بشأن التحيز والخصوصية مع حلول الذكاء الاصطناعي التوليدي. هذه الحلول التي تحدثنا عنها أعلاه يتم تدريبها على البيانات، والتي يمكن أن تكون متحيزة عن قصد. لن يتمكن الذكاء الاصطناعي من تصفية ذلك وقد يلمح إلى استجابات وتقييمات متحيزة. لذلك، هذا أيضًا شيء تحتاج المؤسسات إلى مراعاته عند الانتقال إلى تكامل الذكاء الاصطناعي الأكثر تقدمًا.

في خضم ذلك، من المنطقي أن نتوقع أن تكون هناك مقاومة من الموظفين لاستخدام حلول مراقبة الموظفين المدعومة بالذكاء الاصطناعي المتقدم. وسوف يتساءلون عن التحيز المحتمل في بيانات التقييم، وأمن معلوماتهم الحساسة، واحتمال إساءة استخدامها من جانب المؤسسة. وهذه كلها مخاوف مشروعة على أقل تقدير.

هناك حاجة إلى تحقيق التوازن

إن الآثار المترتبة على المراقبة التي تعتمد على الذكاء الاصطناعي في سياق العمل عن بُعد والمشهد المتغير لترتيبات العمل عميقة. ما تحتاج المؤسسات إلى القيام به هو تحقيق التوازن بين المراقبة من أجل الإنتاجية والحفاظ على سلامة بيانات الموظفين.

To establish this, they need to understand that the adoption of AI should not be driven by "desire" but the "need" to have technology in place to power performance improvements. It's easy to get caught in the hype cycle of AI and difficult to evaluate how it actually benefits the business use case.

توصيتنا هي إجراء تقييم دقيق لاحتياجات سير العمل لديك، وتوثيق التناقضات، ومعرفة ما إذا كان النهج التدريجي لمراقبة الموظفين المدعوم بالذكاء الاصطناعي مفيداً. على سبيل المثال، إذا كنت قلقاً بشأن انخفاض الإنتاجية في الإعدادات عن بُعد، فقد يكون اختيار CleverControl مع ميزة التعرف على الوجوه مجدياً للغاية.

بالطبع، سيكون هناك بعض التجارب في المراحل الأولية. لكن القفزة الكبيرة ليست مطلوبة إذا لم يكن العمل يتطلب ذلك.

Here are some other interesting articles:

Using AI and Machine Learning for Monitoring Employees

Challenges of Managing a Remote Multinational Team and How to Overcome Them

In 2022, IBM reported that about 35% of companies had adopted AI, and another 42% were "exploring" it. The word "exploring" has an important connotation here.

Often, there's a lot to consider for enterprises when it comes to overhauling their systems and processes. As such, extensive functions like employee monitoring often get left behind and continue relying on the legacy infrastructure.

But things have changed a lot in the past year or so. Much can be attributed to the growth in generative AI (gen AI) solutions. McKinsey calls 2023 as "Generative AI's breakout year." The consulting giant says that companies using gen AI for performance management and organisation design are already ahead of their competitors.

When talking about AI's influence on workforce performance management, one business function that benefits immensely is employee monitoring.

Benefitting from AI-Driven Employee Monitoring

Moving from "Just" Surveillance to Performance Optimisation

For long, employee monitoring functions have been limited to recording rather cold data that might suit certain metrics (such as the number of hours worked). This data lacks the context into the how(s) and why(s) of employee engagement and performance.

In other words, there's no qualitative aspect that could unearth the root causes for the drop in productivity or other anomalous work patterns. AI helps solve this problem by helping move from "cold data" to "insights." With AI, the employee monitoring function becomes more oriented towards deciphering work habits, productivity, strengths, weaknesses, etc.

For example, consider the case of a software development team that uses a traditional employee monitoring solution for performance optimisation. The tool provides the data for the number of code commits or the hours logged. But, this doesn't convey the complexity of the task at hand, the level of collaboration that would have been necessary, the irregularities that could have cropped up.

Now, let's assume the same scenario, but the team is using an AI-powered employee monitoring solution. The platform does everything that a traditional solution would do but also provides insight into the communication patterns, collaboration level, problem-solving efficiency, feedback mechanism, etc.

How? By noticing every little detail about work and unearthing patterns that could further help formulate best practices for improvement. For instance, an AI system can relay if a certain developer's code commits do not entail subsequent bug fixes. The developer's process can be established as a best practice.

Likewise, the system can help understand if the developer's productivity is down during a specific time of the day. This way, the team can redistribute the work and better understand the work patterns.

Making "Data Security" the Front and Centre

There's a lot of talk about security implications with employee monitoring solutions, and understandably so. We're talking about monitoring people and their day-to-day work activities. So, there are bound to be concerns — precisely why regulations such as Europe's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) have been set up.

Of course, there's the consensual angle to this story. But we're only concentrating on the technology front for now. To that end, AI's integration offers numerous advantages to organisations in terms of:

  • Learning typical user behaviour and detecting anything that's anomalous to that
  • Understanding sensitive data access patterns and flagging any activities that are seemingly unusual
  • Setting up automated alerts for suspected security incidents and allowing security teams to take proactive action instead of resorting to post-mortem analysis
  • Detecting any insider threat activities by ensuring that anything that's beyond the normal work pattern of behaviour gets immediately noticed
  • Blocking the transfer of any sensitive information within and outside the company network

Let's quantify these capabilities to understand their tangible value. During the initial days of the COVID-19 lockdown in 2020, remote workers were constantly under attack by malicious users. Deloitte reported a fivefold increase, from 12% to 60%, in the attacks on remote workers during this time.

Elsewhere, the cost of insider threats reached $15.38 million in 2022. A US-specific report suggested that businesses are experiencing around 2,200 internal security attacks on a daily basis.

So, what would be the ideal AI-employee monitoring solution in the wake of looming cyber threats? By keeping "security" at the forefront. CleverControl's Face Recognition feature is one such AI-powered surveillance solution that makes for better data and employee security.

We surveyed several executives and understood that they were struggling to:

  • Prevent people from allowing an external person to cover up for their work
  • Ensure that the employees weren't cheating by opening productivity apps and were actually attending their work desk when working remotely

Hence, we brought the Face Recognition feature to our monitoring solution, which could record employees (by taking a photo every five seconds) and ensure that no unauthorised entity entertains an employee's work. This proved a viable solution for many organisations, especially those in relatively heavily regulated industries like finance.

Literally Improving Employee's Lives

Businesses stress that employees are their most valuable assets, but that isn't, at times, reflected on the ground. The reasons could be manifold, including those that have nothing to do with systems and technology. For the sake of this discourse, we'll avoid those. Let's focus on the operational and technology inhibitions.

Often, the operational bottlenecks could lead to employee burnout, unfair performance assessments, and more. But AI comes to the rescue with a host of benefits. For example, AI-powered monitoring can help:

  • Distribute workloads according to a team's or individual's working proficiency. Teams can understand the working patterns and solicit suggestions from AI about redistributing work strategically.
  • Provide personalised feedback based on employee's productivity and engagement patterns. This can be as simple as providing a nudge to improve engagement on certain channels or recommending the whole series of courses for professional growth.
  • Gauge employee sentiments through their communication patterns across internal or social channels being monitored. Large language models (LLMs) that power generative AI solutions can certainly be a boon for companies wanting to go granular into comprehending what employees like and dislike. This can help alert managers to potential hiccups in productivity and take proactive actions to personally interact with employees or perhaps even tweak the working conditions for the greater good.

While this doesn't befit the usual SaaS use case but AI-driven employee monitoring is also making waves in industrial settings. Take the example of computer vision-powered visual analytics within a factory where employees could be immediately alerted about potential disasters or prevented from entering certain facilities.

Challenges of Managing a Remote Multinational Team and How to Overcome Them

Challenges and Controversies

It would be unfair not to outline the public sentiment attached to the increasing use of AI for employee surveillance. And there are reasons for that.

According to a Pew Research Center survey , 81% of the respondents said that employees would not feel good about being inappropriately watched or evaluated using AI.

Reuters also raises questions about excessive AI-based employee monitoring, citing that "Many employees and privacy rights advocates see this as an unreasonable incursion into an employee's home, long considered to be their private sphere."

Apart from this, there's a concern about bias and privacy with generative AI solutions. These LLMs that we talked about above are trained on data, which can be intentionally biased. The AI would not be able to filter that and might allude to biased responses and assessments. So, that's also something that organisations need to consider when making the move to more advanced AI integration.

Amid this, it's reasonable to expect that there will be employee resistance to the use of employee monitoring solutions powered by advanced AI. They will question the potential bias in the assessment data, the security of their sensitive information, and the potential misuse of the same on the organisation's part. And all these are valid concerns to say the least.

There's a Need to Strike a Balance

Implications of AI-driven monitoring in the context of remote work and the changing landscape of work arrangements are profound. What organisations need to do is strike a balance between monitoring for productivity and keeping employee data safe.

To establish this, they need to understand that the adoption of AI should not be driven by "desire" but the "need" to have technology in place to power performance improvements. It's easy to get caught in the hype cycle of AI and difficult to evaluate how it actually benefits the business use case.

Our recommendation would be to rigorously assess the needs of your workflow, document the discrepancies, and see if an incremental approach to AI-powered employee monitoring benefits. For example, if you're concerned about productivity drop in remote settings, choosing CleverControl with Face Recognition might prove immensely viable.

Of course, there would be some experimentation in the initial stages. But a big leap isn't required if the business doesn't demand it.