无声的拒绝招聘中的幽灵流行病

候选人为何在面试后鬼鬼祟祟?

在微博网站和社交渠道上,经常会有关于雇主幽灵化候选人的深刻讨论。虽然几乎没有任何具体的解决方案,但大家都同意,在各行各业的招聘过程中,沟通障碍始终存在。

最近,这个话题又转向了另一个令人担忧的趋势--求职者幽灵化雇主。这就是 2024 年候选人体验报告 Career Plug 的一项调查显示,44% 的求职者已经开始 "幽灵化 "雇主,而被雇主 "幽灵化 "的求职者占 53%。

事实上,Talantix 最近的一项研究发现,自 2023 年以来,求职者 "幽灵化 "现象增加了两倍。医疗保健、金融和技术等行业受到了这种现象的严重影响,因为这些行业缺乏顶尖人才,而且团队人手紧张,项目又非常关键。让我们来看看为什么这种无声的拒绝变得越来越突出,以及雇主该如何应对。

候选人 "幽灵化 "背后的原因

应聘者为何会对招聘人员鬼迷心窍,原因可能有很多。不过,从万丈高楼平地起的角度看,这些原因都可以归结为市场动态在起作用,以及招聘流程是如何策划的,以将应聘者转化为员工。

增加就业机会和候选人驱动的市场杠杆作用

由于各种经济变数的影响,很难确定全球就业市场是否正在扩大。不过,就业的量化数据似乎表明了这一点。例如,到 2024 年,全球将有大约 35 亿人口 相比之下,2023 年和 2021 年的全球就业人数分别为 34 亿和 32.2 亿。

来自 罗伯特-哈夫出版社 该报告还显示,51% 的雇主计划在 2024 年提高工资,主要原因是劳动力市场的职位空缺多于可用人才,招聘竞争激烈。

除了薪资,雇主还希望促进灵活性、工作与生活的平衡、更好的求职者体验、薪资透明度等。事实上,在 LinkedIn 等招聘平台上展示薪资范围的公司大幅增加。在美国,已有八个州颁布了 薪酬范围透明度法, 还有 15 个国家正在考虑。

灵活工作的分量也在谈判中有所增加。由 COVID-19 引发的远程工作为许多员工和公司创造了奇迹。员工希望保持工作与生活的平衡是可以理解的,尤其是在工作效率没有明显下降的情况下。

所有这些因素都会诱发我们所说的 "候选人驱动的市场杠杆"。这些意味着什么?

  • 候选人的讨价还价能力增强。他们有更多的机会;他们有权要求更高的薪酬。

  • 应聘者会进行选择。他们更能根据提供的福利选择工作地点。例如,混合工作和远程工作方式是求职者留在招聘岗位的关键。

  • 求职者重视员工品牌。尤其是顶尖人才,他们会调查公司的价值观以及员工对在公司工作的感受。

有了这种影响力,候选人就会觉得自己能够掌控整个过程,如果过程与他们的目标不符,他们就更有可能突然终止过程。当然,这种影响力并不一定在所有情况下都有直接关系,但它确实可以影响候选人果断行事。

招聘过程中候选人体验不佳

在当前的就业市场上,认为每个求职者都有筹码肯定是不谨慎的。然而,工作机会的增加,以及企业希望改进、实施和延续与弹性工作制、有竞争力的薪酬等相关的政策,都是将求职者置于重要位置的因素。

当招聘流程、公司文化和提供的服务与候选人的期望一致时,这种方法就能很好地发挥作用。这些因素中的任何一个出现偏差,都可能导致 "鬼才 "现象。

"(《世界人权宣言》) 2024 年怪物工作观察报告, 47%的应聘者因沟通不畅而放弃申请。46%的人因为面试官的态度而放弃,35%的人因为需要做大量的项目和长时间的演讲而放弃。

在招聘的任何阶段,经验都可能被破坏。对于一个在申请阶段就放弃的人来说,详尽的表格和咄咄逼人的信息征询可能会让他望而却步。而对于处于面试间歇期的人来说,面试经历和沟通中的漏洞则可能成为决定是否放弃的关键因素。

缓慢、反应迟钝、耗费精力的招聘流程是招聘团队为引进顶尖人才所花费的时间和精力的敌人。这样的流程只会滋生脱离和退缩。

候选人为何在面试后鬼鬼祟祟?

对雇主的影响

当然,求职者幽灵般地出现在雇主面前时,人们首先想到的是招聘流程会立即中断。

浪费时间、资源和精力

毫无疑问,在寻找、面试和评估候选人的过程中需要花费大量的精力和时间。包括人力资源、团队主管/行政人员、相关团队领导、会计团队等在内的许多资源都为成功招聘做出了贡献。

研究, 称,招聘空缺职位平均需要 42 天。对于工程等技术类职位,耗时更长。如果应聘者 "幽灵 "出现,所有这些努力都将付诸东流,而雇主却几乎无法从中获得改善招聘流程的学习线索。

最重要的是,其财务影响是巨大的。根据 SHRM 的数据,平均 每次聘用成本为 4 700 美元, 2022 年。对于行政职位,这一数字高达 28 329 美元。为什么会有如此高昂的开支?从招聘广告到招聘软件,再到相关人员的工资,需要计算的东西太多了。此外,还有一些经常被忽视的开支,如面试费用、背景调查和评估费用、员工入职前的入职培训费用等。

对人才招聘的长期影响

对团队士气和工作量的影响

  • 在团队人手紧张的情况下,现有员工的工作量不断增加。

  • 如果幽灵事件不断发生,团队的士气就会下降。

  • 这会影响团队的凝聚力和稳定性,因为员工会因组织无法找到优秀人才而感到沮丧。

布莱恩-汉考克(Bryan Hancock)是 麦肯锡, 说,"各组织要真正研究的是,我们为什么会感到倦怠。其中一些原因可能是工作量以及工作量与生活的交集。我们需要认真对待这一点"。

当屡屡发生的幽灵事件让团队岌岌可危时,我们需要更加认真地对待。关于这一点,让我们来看看组织可以采取哪些措施来减少幽灵现象。

雇主如何减少幽灵现象?

不用说,这需要一个万无一失的计划。当然,雇主无法从心理上干预和了解应聘者在某个招聘阶段的想法。但是,他们一定可以在自己可以控制的方面加以改进。

我们的目标应该是通过建立一个坚实的品牌来改善求职者的体验。这需要雇主:

  1. 设定明确的期望

    面试过程有三个步骤?很好提前告知。你们的招聘流程需要一个月?很好。那就说清楚。我们的想法是,要深刻传达应聘者对招聘流程的期望,以及你对他们的期望。

    例如,应聘者经常在社交媒体上抱怨,招聘经理在面试时要求应聘者提供详细的产品原型或详尽的演示文稿,甚至是完整的商业计划书,而这些都是之前没有强调过的步骤。在这里一定要做到非常透明。

  2. 随时更新候选人信息

    应聘者放弃应聘的一个主要原因是与雇主方面的沟通不畅。当然,从人力资源的角度和相关招聘团队的角度来看,有很多事情需要管理和考虑。但这并不是候选人所关心的,这也是可以理解的。

    应聘者和雇主对时间的感知是不同的。任何一方在沟通上的缺失都会带来灾难。

    因此,定期更新候选人的申请系统(即使是在初级阶段通过自动系统进行更新)有利于保持候选人的参与度,并消除可能出现的不确定性。

  3. 保持个性化流程

    通常情况下,优秀的应聘者会希望了解面试他们的人是谁,公司的文化,团队针对所需职位所采取的最佳做法,当前职位所处的系统状况等。在这里,雇主需要从泛泛而谈的互动中走出来,让应聘者感受到自己的价值。

  4. 简化申请和面试结构

    从应聘者申请工作到面试时与他们进行一对一的讨论,整个过程都应该有条不紊、天衣无缝。我们所说的有条不紊并不一定是指要严格。但应该有一套方法。

    首先,申请流程要简洁明了。通过邀请移动友好型申请来减少复杂性,避免冗长的表格。一个好的方法是在内部对申请进行计时。这样,您就可以确定填写表格所需的时间,并与您的基准进行比较。

    对于面试来说,面试官必须清楚地知道他们想从讨论中得到什么,而且他们必须尊重面试官并具有专业精神,这一点至关重要。任何形式的面试结构都能避免任何模棱两可和含糊不清的情况,从而进一步增加良好的面试体验。

  5. 充分利用技术

    为人力资源专业人员配备申请人跟踪系统(ATS)和客户关系管理系统。这样,他们就可以跟踪所有端到端的互动,并及时发送最新信息和通信,以保持整个过程的吸引力。

    就是这样!更好的候选人体验可以大大节省雇主的时间、精力和资源。它还可以创建一个出色的人才转换管道。

Here are some other interesting articles:

Silent Rejection: The Ghosting Epidemic in Recruitment

Why Candidates are Ghosting after Interviews and What Can Be Done About It

There are often profound discourses on microblogging sites and social channels about employers ghosting candidates. There's hardly any concrete solution laid out, but everyone agrees on the ever-persistent communication gap that looms during the hiring process across industries.

Lately, this conversation has shifted towards another troubling trend — candidates ghosting employers. The 2024 Candidate Experience Report from Career Plug reveals that 44% of the candidates have started ghosting employers compared to 53% candidates who have been ghosted by the employer.

In fact, a recent study by Talantix found that candidate ghosting has increased by two times since 2023. Sectors like healthcare, finance, and technology are severely impacted by this because of a dearth of top talent and the teams being stretched thin or hyper-critical projects. Let's see why this silent rejection has gained prominence and how employers can deal with it.

Reasons Behind Candidate Ghosting

There could be various explanations for why candidates would ghost recruiters. From a 10,000 ft, though, the reasons can be clubbed under market dynamics in play and how the recruitment process has been curated to convert candidates into employees.

Increased Job Opportunities & Candidate-Driven Market Leverage

It's difficult to put a finger on whether the job market is expanding worldwide because of varying economic variables coming into play. However, the employment quantifiables seem to suggest so. For instance, in 2024, approx. 3.5 billion people are employed worldwide - compared to 3.4 billion in 2023 and 3.22 billion in 2021, respectively.

Research from Robert Half Press also reveals that 51% of employers plan to increase salaries in 2024 – primarily because of competitive hiring in a labour market that has more job openings than available talent.

Apart from salaries, employers also look to promote flexibility, work-life balance, better candidate experience, salary transparency, etc. There's, in fact, a significant surge in companies showcasing salary ranges on job platforms like LinkedIn. In the US, eight states have already enacted the salary range transparency law, while 15 more are considering it.

The weight of flexible work has also increased in negotiations. The COVID-19-induced remote working has worked wonders for a lot of employees and companies alike. And it's understandable that employees would want to maintain that work-life balance, especially when there hasn't been a noticeable productivity drop.

All these factors induce what we call a Candidate-driven market leverage. What would these mean?

  • Candidates have increased bargaining power. They have more offers on the table; they are empowered to demand higher salaries.

  • Candidates practice selectivity. They are better placed to choose where they want to work based on the perks being offered. For instance, hybrid and remote working options are key to candidates staying put with recruitment.

  • Candidates value employee branding. Top talent, in particular, researches everything from a company's values to how people feel about working there.

With such leverage, candidates feel in control of the process and are more likely to abruptly end the process if it doesn't align with their goal. Of course, such leverage doesn't necessarily bear a direct correlation in all cases, but it sure does have its role to play in influencing candidates to act decisively.

Poor Candidate Experience During the Hiring Process

It certainly won't be prudent to consider that every candidate has leverage in the current job market. However, the increased job opportunities and the fact that organisations are looking to improve, implement, and continue policies associated with flexible working, competitive offers, etc., are factors that put candidates on the pedestal.

This works well when the recruitment process, the company culture, and offerings are in alignment with the candidate's expectations. Any discrepancies across any of these factors can lead to ghosting.

The 2024 Monster Work Watch Report, relays that 47% of candidates quit their application process due to poor communication. 46% are put off by the interviewer's attitude, and 35% are driven away by the fact that they'll be required to do extensive projects and long presentations.

Experience can be ruined at any stage of recruitment. For a person dropping off at the application stage, the exhaustive form and intrusive soliciting of information could be a turn off. For someone who is in-between the interviews, the interview experience and the gaps in communication could prove pivotal in a ghosting decision.

Sluggish, unresponsive, draining hiring processes act as enemies to the time and effort that the hiring team spends in bringing on board top talent. Such processes only breed disengagement and withdrawals.

Why Candidates are Ghosting after Interviews and What Can Be Done About It

Impact on Employers

Of course, the first thing that comes to mind when a candidate ghosts an employer is the immediate disruption to the hiring process.

Wastage of Time, Resources, and Effort

There's no doubt that extensive effort and time goes into sourcing, interviewing, and evaluating candidates. A number of resources, including HRs, team directors/executives, concerned team lead, accounting team, and more, contribute to a successful hiring.

Research, claims that it takes 42 days on average to hire for open positions. The time is even more for technical profiles like engineering. When a candidate ghosts, all this effort is lost with little learning cues that employers can extract to improve the process.

Most importantly, the financial impact is substantial. As per SHRM, the average cost per hire was $4,700, in 2022. For executive positions, this rises up to a whopping $28,329. Why such exorbitant expenses? Well, there's so much to account for — from job advertising to recruiting software to the salaries of the staff involved. Then there are expenses that often go unnoticed like interview costs, background check and assessment expenses, costs incurred for onboarding an employee before the join the company.

Long-term implications for talent acquisition

Effect on Team Morale and Workload

  • Existing employees keep experiencing increased workloads when the team is stretched thin.

  • The team's morale goes down if the ghosting incidents keep happening.

  • There's an impact on the team's cohesion and stability because employees can get frustrated over the organisation's inability to land good talent.

Bryan Hancock, partner at McKinsey, says how "organisations really dig into is why we are feeling burned out. And some of that may be the workload and the nature of how that intersects with your life. We need to treat that seriously."

We need to take that even more seriously when repeated ghosting incidents leave the team on the brink. On that note, let's see what organisations can do to mitigate ghosting.

How Can Employers Mitigate Ghosting?

Needless to say, this requires a foolproof plan. Of course, employers can't psychologically intervene and understand what a candidate is thinking at a certain hiring stage. However, they can surely improve on the aspects that are in their control.

The aim should be to improve the candidate experience by building a solid brand. That happens when the employers:

  1. Set clear-as-day expectations

    You have three steps in the interview process? Good. Communicate that upfront. Your hiring process takes a month? Good. Communicate that. The idea is to be profound at communicating what candidates can expect from this hiring process and what you'll expect from them through it.

    For instance, candidates often complain on social media that the hiring manager asked for a detailed prototype of the product, or an exhaustive presentation or even a complete business plan as one of the steps during the interviews — when it wasn't highlighted before. Be sure to be extremely transparent here.

  2. Keep candidates updated

    One of the major reasons for candidates ghosting the process is the communication gap from the employer side. For sure, there are so many things to manage and consider from the human resource standpoint and the concerned hiring team. But that's not what the candidate is concerned about, and understandably so.

    The perception of time is different on the candidate and the employer side. Any gap is communication from either side is a recipe for disaster.

    Hence, regularly updating the candidates on their application systems (even if that happens via automated systems during the primary stages) is good for keeping candidates engaging and waving off any uncertainty that might otherwise transpire.

  3. Keep the process personalised

    Often, good candidates would want to know about who's interviewing them, the culture of the company, the best practices that a team follows for the required role, the state of the system within which the current role fits, etc. It's here that employers need to grow out of generalised interactions and make the candidates feel valued.

  4. Simplify applications and structure interviews

    Right from when a candidate applies for the job to the one-to-one discussion with them during interviews, the process should be structured and seamless. By structure, we don't necessarily mean that it should be stringent. But there should be a method to it.

    For one, keep the application process crisp and concise. Reduce complexity by inviting mobile-friendly applications and avoid lengthy forms. A good way to go about it is to time the application internally. That way, you can settle on a timeframe that it takes to fill it out and compare it against your benchmark.

    For the interviews, it's super critical that the interviewers know exactly what they want from the discussion and that they are respectful and professional. Any sort of structure to the interview further adds to a good experience as it serves to ward off any ambiguity and vagueness.

  5. Use technology to the best effect

    Equip the human resource professionals with applicant tracking systems (ATS) and CRMs. This way, they can keep track of all the end-to-end interactions and send timely updates and communications to keep the process engaging.

    There you have it! A better candidate experience can go a long way in preserving the employer's time, effort, and resources. It can serve to create an excellent talent conversion pipeline.

Here are some other interesting articles: