Les psychologues qualifient la perte de sens au travail de problème du siècle

La perte de sens dans l'activité professionnelle est en train de devenir "le fléau du siècle", selon le journal Le Matin Dimanche. L'édition se réfère aux résultats d'une recherche sociologique menée en association avec la Fédération suisse des psychologues, qui montre que plus de 80% des 480 experts interrogés affirment qu'à leur avis les Suisses "souffrent au travail" plus souvent ces dix dernières années.

L'e-mail au lieu de la communication de la vie

"Un employé subit une pression croissante, il a de moins en moins de temps et doit rendre compte de son efficacité", explique la psychothérapeute Jenny Humber. "Les interactions personnelles sont remplacées par des emails et des documents. La créativité est étouffée par le protocole."

De son côté, le spécialiste des relations de travail Loran Brewer voit l'origine du problème dans le fait que dans le monde moderne, le sentiment d'être est crucial pour une personne en raison de "l'accès facile à l'information". "Si, auparavant, les gens se contentaient d'acheter du riz, maintenant, l'endroit où il a été produit, par qui et dans quelles conditions a une grande signification pour eux", explique-t-il, ajoutant "une conscience globale se renforce, créant de nouveaux paradoxes dans tous les domaines."

Les experts soulignent que la "souffrance au travail" revêt différentes formes et l'une des plus répandues est l'épuisement physique et mental extrême - le "burn out". Selon la psychologue Catherine Vase, "la tension de l'organisme est telle qu'il s'effondre". Ce qui affecte également négativement l'état général et les performances professionnelles d'un employé, c'est le caractère ennuyeux de son activité professionnelle qui ne correspond pas à ses qualifications et à ses aspirations. Contrairement au "burn out", dans ce cas, la personne continue à travailler mais finit souvent par changer d'emploi.

Des banquiers aux brasseurs

Les chercheurs soulignent l'émergence du phénomène de diminution de l'efficacité du travail en raison du fait que l'employé est déçu par son travail et n'en voit pas le sens.

Comme l'admet Catherine Vase, cet état peut affecter des personnes qui sont financièrement solides, bien éduquées et qui occupent des postes de direction. Elles ne voient plus de sens à leur travail et commencent à le considérer comme absurde. Comme l'entourage les voit encore comme des personnes ayant "réussi", ils ont des difficultés à partager leurs problèmes. Ils veulent changer de profession pour en choisir une plus pratique, où les résultats seront clairement visibles, par exemple, se lancer dans l'artisanat ou le travail social.

Cependant, comme le prévient la psychologue Marion Aufsesser, "le danger pour un banquier qui a décidé de devenir brasseur" réside dans le risque de faillite car les difficultés réelles d'une telle "reconversion" professionnelle sont souvent sous-estimées. La plupart des psychologues conseillent de suivre "le principe du réalisme" dans ces cas-là, en gardant l'équilibre entre ses propres souhaits et les chances de succès dans son nouveau domaine. Selon Mme Aufsesser, avec l'augmentation de ce problème dans la société moderne, les employeurs devraient "laisser leurs employés exprimer leurs souhaits". Selon elle, les employés doivent avoir la possibilité de satisfaire leurs demandes personnelles et les chefs doivent les soutenir.

Des banquiers aux brasseurs

Psychologists Call Losing Sense in Work the Problem of the Century

employee

Psychologists Call Losing Sense in Work the Problem of the Century

Losing sense in the professional activity is becoming “the scourge of the century”, according to the newspaper Le Matin Dimanche. The edition refers to the results of sociological research conducted in association with Federation of Swiss Psychologists, which shows that more than 80% out of 480 interviewed experts claimed that in their opinion the Swiss “suffer at work” more often in the past 10 years.

Email instead of life communication

“An employee is undergoing the growing pressure, he has less and less time and must report on his or her efficiency”, explains the psychotherapist Jenny Humber. “Personal interactions are replaced with emails and documents. Creativity is suppressed by the protocol.”

In his part, the specialist in labor relations Loran Brewer sees the root of the problem in the fact that in the modern world the sense of being is crucial for a person due to “the easy access to information”. “If people just bought rice before, now where it was produced, by whom and in what conditions has a great meaning for them”, he explains, adding “a global consciousness grows stronger, creating new paradoxes in all spheres.”

Experts point out that “suffering at work” has different forms and one of the most widespread forms is the extreme physical and mental exhaustion – “burning out”. According to the psychologist Catherine Vase, “the strain of the organism is such that it breaks down.” What also affects an employee’s general state and professional performance negatively is the boring nature of the professional activity which doesn’t correspond to his or her qualifications and aspirations. Unlike “burning out” in this case the person continues working but often changes his or her job in the end.

From bankers to brewers

Researchers point out the emergence of decreasing work efficiency phenomenon owing to the fact that the employee is disappointed in his or her work and doesn’t see any sense in it.

As Catherine Vase admits, this state can affect people who are financially sound, well-educated and take leading posts. They don’t see sense in their work any longer and start taking it as an absurd one. Since people around still see them as “successful”, they have difficulties sharing their problems. They want to change their profession to a more practical one, where the results will be clearly seen, for instance, take up craft or social work.

However, as the psychologist Marion Aufsesser warns, “the danger for a banker who decided to become a brewer” lies in the risk of bankruptcy because the real difficulties of such professional “conversion” are often underestimated. Most psychologists advise following “the principle of realism” in these cases, keeping the balance between your own wishes and chances for success in your new area. According to Aufsesser, with the increase of this problem in the modern society employers should “let their employees express their wishes”. In her opinion, employees should have an opportunity to satisfy their personal requests and the heads must support them.

employee

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×