彼得原理:最好的员工如何变成无能的人

上述效应被称为 "彼得原理":在任何具有等级结构的组织中,每个员工都倾向于占据他或她将被证明是不称职的职位(即无法成功和/或无法实现预期的结果),并留在这个位置上。当一个员工有效地完成每个职位的任务时,他/她不断地被提升,直到有一个职位超出这个员工的能力。要让这名员工回到以前的职位是不可能的:位置已经被占用,负责人的声誉可能因此受损。

这种情况使公司陷入了困境。如果你不从公司外部招聘员工,那么一段时间后,公司将充满不称职的员工。而问题不仅仅在于缺乏 "新鲜血液":不称职会产生和增加不称职。例如,一个不称职的经理评估的不是他或她的下属的实际成果,而是他们对公司业绩贡献的明显表现:遵守公认的规则和命令,忠诚和仁慈,以及他们对经理的职业生涯没有威胁。随着形势的发展,只有不称职的员工和经理人占据了所有的等级制度,公司对生产性活动,如实现既定目标、提高运营效率、寻找新的发展机会的关注就会减少。

不足为奇的是,所有这些都会直接影响到企业的业绩。CEB SHL的研究表明,80%以上的业绩下滑不是由外部因素造成的,而是由员工的行为造成的。

无论企业的问题是什么:客户和他们的忠诚度的损失,毁坏的声誉和不明确的品牌定位,低质量的产品和供应链的不平衡,错误的定价和考虑不周的商业模式,无意义的投资,以及无利可图的联盟--在几乎所有的问题中,无能起了最大的作用。

还记得DEC和柯达是如何濒临破产的吗?在此之前的几年,这两家公司都依赖于众所周知、经过验证的流行产品。但他们忽略了后来成为新一代技术基础的发现和解决方案。原因是负责战略规划和分析长期行业趋势的工作人员和管理人员的无能。

外部招聘不是一种救赎

这个问题有两个解决方案。第一个是从公司外部招聘更多的员工。然而,困难的经济形势会迫使大多数组织减少其外部招聘计划。危机期间申请人之间的竞争可能会加倍。例如,在2015年初,由于俄罗斯的经济危机,俄罗斯求职网站hh.ru登记的每个职位空缺的简历从6份增加到12份。

然而,即使在经济不景气的情况下,公司也从未停止进一步发展业务的计划。相反,他们寻求保留和增长他们的市场份额,提高流程的效率,推出新的产品和服务。要做到这一点,他们需要人,所以在危机期间,改善和教育现有员工变得更有吸引力,这并不奇怪。但是,公司是否了解其员工的潜力?全球CEB SHL研究表明,在内部招聘中,公司很少使用客观的评估工具。

只有40%的受访机构使用技能和知识测试来评估其现有员工,而对于外部候选人,73%的公司将提供此类测试。

人格问卷的情况也是如此:只有34%的组织将其用于内部招聘和晋升,62%的组织将其用于外部招聘。认知能力和智力测试的情况更糟糕:分别为24%和59%。

事实证明,公司往往不太仔细地检查他们的内部候选人。关于这些人的主要信息来源,首先是他们的上级和同事的主观意见,其次是过去的工作成就和成功经验,最后是一些可以称为社会指标的东西:在公司或以前的职位上的经验,文凭和证书,关系和推荐,等等。

当然,这些信息是相关的。特别是当涉及到具有战略意义的职位时:它允许选择那些已经适应公司文化和风格的候选人,获得必要的关系和声誉,并取得一些成果。但这些信息对员工的实际潜力说明甚少。相反,重点主要放在过去的成功上,这也正是 "彼得原则 "发生的原因,当一个成功的员工被提拔后,很容易导致出现完全不称职的公司领导。

当然,市场上有很多工具,可以让你监控你的员工,检查他们每一个人究竟有多专业。它们有很多形状和大小,从简单的时间跟踪器或屏幕截图器到先进的多方面程序,例如CleverControl。不可否认,这类程序对改善公司的业务流程很有帮助,但当涉及到员工评估时,防止一个不称职的员工获得重要职位总比后来发现某些晋升是个错误要好。

客观评价是最好的补救措施

哪些内部候选人信息能帮助公司为一个空缺职位选择最合适的人?哪些信息来源是可以信赖的?

一个员工在一个新的职位或新的环境中的结果主要取决于他或她是否具备必要的能力,这些能力是可持续的和明确表现出来的行为,在实际工作情况下是一致和有效的。直接评估能力水平并不容易,因为这需要大规模和组织良好的评估中心。在评估中心,候选人展示他们能力的真实水平,进行各种练习,详细模拟工作活动的最重要方面。但这个过程需要大量的时间和人力资源。

因此,成功的组织已经诉诸于对潜力的评估 - 那些构成能力基础的素质。首先,它们是智力和认知能力、个性特征和动机因素,其次是经过考验的技能、获得的知识和经验,包括在特定公司环境中的 "生存经验"。

如果 "生存经验 "的信息可以从候选人的同事那里收集到,那么客观的评估工具就可以具体了解到无法主观评估的能力和个性特征。

最可靠的结果是通过专业的能力测试和个性问卷来体现的;能力面试和情景测试可能是有用的额外信息来源。为了从内部招聘中使用这些工具中获得最大利益,你需要遵循以下3个简单的规则。

普遍应用

每一个被履行的职位,如果没有采用客观的评估工具,都是公司的一个风险源。

义务性和条件的平等

一个职位的所有候选人都必须由同一套工具来评估。

客观性和诚实性

为了使评估真正客观,有必要使用与该职位相关的工具,评估该职位所需的素质,并证明其有效性和可靠性。

对内部候选人的客观评估不仅可以帮助你选择最好的人选。使用现代评估工具进行内部招聘,可以确保提高整个组织的能力,并允许任何公司衡量员工的真正潜力 - 这是他们未来成就和胜利的基础。

The Peter Principle: How Best Employees Turn Out to Be Incompetent

Incompetent employees

The Peter Principle: How Best Employees Turn Out to Be Incompetent

The effect described above is known as the “Peter Principle”: in any organization with a hierarchical structure, every employee tends to occupy the position in which he or she will turn out to be incompetent (i.e. unable to succeed and/or to achieve the desired results) and remain in this position. While an employee effectively performs the tasks of each position, he/she keeps being promoted until there is a position which is beyond this employee’s capabilities. It is impossible to return this employee to the previous position: the place is already taken and the reputation of the person in charge might be damaged because of it.

This situation puts a company in a difficult position. If you do not hire employees from outside the company, then after a while it will be full of incompetent employees. And the problem is not just in the lack of “fresh blood”: incompetence begets and multiplies incompetence. For example, an incompetent manager assesses not the actual results of his or her subordinates, but the visible manifestation of their contribution to the company’s performance: compliance with accepted rules and orders, loyalty and benignity, and absence of threat to manager’s career from them. As the situation unfolds and only incompetent employees and managers take over all levels of hierarchy, the company pays less attention to productive activities, such as achievement of its set goals, the increase of operational efficiency, and finding new opportunities for growth.

Unsurprisingly, all of this has a direct impact on business results: CEB SHL studies show that more than 80% of the decline in performance is caused not by external factors, but by employees’ actions.

Whatever business’s problem is: loss of customers and their loyalty, a ruined reputation and unclear brand positioning, low quality of products and imbalances in the supply chain, erroneous pricing and a poorly thought out business model, senseless investments, and unprofitable alliances – in almost any of them incompetence plays the biggest part.

Remember how DEC and Kodak were on the verge of bankruptcy? A few years prior to that, both companies relied on the well-known, proven popular products. But they ignored the discoveries and solutions which later became the basis for the new generation of technology. The reason was the incompetence of the staff and managers who were responsible for strategic planning and analysis of long-term industry trends.

Incompetent employeesExternal recruitment is not a salvation

The problem has two solutions. The first one is to hire more employees from outside the company. However, a difficult economic situation can force most organizations to reduce their external recruitment programs. Competition among applicants during the crisis might double. For instance, in early 2015 Russian job search website hh.ru registered increase from 6 to 12 resumes for each job vacancy due to the crisis in the Russian economy.

However, even in poor economy companies never stop planning further development of business. On the contrary, they seek to retain and grow their market share, improve the efficiency of processes, launch new products and services. To do this, they need people, so it is not surprising that during crisis improvement and education of the existing staff becomes more attractive. But do companies understand the potential of their staff members? Global CEB SHL studies say that within the internal recruitment companies very rarely use objective assessment tools.

Only 40% of surveyed organizations use skills and knowledge tests to assess their current staff, while for external candidates such tests will be offered by 73% of the companies.

The situation is similar with personality questionnaires: only 34% of organizations use them for internal recruitment and promotion, and 62% – in the framework of external recruitment. It is even worse is the case with tests of cognitive and intellectual abilities: 24% and 59% respectively.

It turns out companies tend to check their internal candidates much less carefully. The main source of information about these people is, firstly, the subjective views of their superiors and colleagues, secondly, past achievements and successes at work and, finally, something that can be called social indicators: experience in the company or in previous positions, diplomas and certificates, connections and recommendations, and so on.

Of course, this information is relevant. Especially when it comes to strategically important positions: it allows selecting the candidates, who have already adapted to the culture and style of the company, acquired the necessary connections and reputation and have achieved some results. But this information says very little about the actual potential of an employee. Instead, the focus is primarily put on past successes, which in its turn is precisely why “Peter Principle” occurs, when the promotion of a successful employee can easily lead to completely incompetent company leader emerging.

Of course, there are a lot of tools in the market, which allow you to monitor your employees to check how professional each and every one of them actually is. They come in many shapes and sizes from simple time trackers or screenshot takers to advanced multifaceted programs such as CleverControl, for instance. These kind of programs are undeniably useful for improving business processes in the company, but when it comes to employee assessment it is always better to prevent an incompetent employee from getting an important position than later find out that some promotion was a mistake.

Objective evaluation is the best remedy

What internal candidate information will help a company to choose the most suitable one for a vacant position? What sources of information can be trusted?

The results of an employee in a new position or in a new environment depend primarily on him or her having the necessary competencies, which are sustainable and clearly exhibited behaviors, consistent and effective in real work situations. It is not so easy to assess the level of competencies directly, as it requires large-scale and well-organized assessment centre. During assessment centre candidates demonstrate the real level of their competence, performing various exercises, which simulate the most important aspects of the work activities in detail. But this procedure requires considerable time and human resources.

Therefore, successful organizations have resorted to the assessment of potential – those qualities that constitute the foundation of competencies. Firstly they are intellectual and cognitive abilities, personality traits and factors of motivation and only secondly – tried and tested skills, acquired knowledge and experience, including “survival experience” in the specific company environment.

If the “survival experience” information can be gathered from colleagues of a candidate, then objective assessment tools give an idea specifically about the abilities and personality traits which cannot be assessed subjectively.

The most reliable results are demonstrated by professional aptitude tests and personality questionnaires; Interviews on competencies and situational tests may be useful additional sources of information. To benefit the most from using these tools within the internal recruitment, you need to follow these 3 simple rules:

Universal application. Every fulfilled position, to which objective assessment tools were not applied, is a risk source for the company.

Obligatoriness and equality of conditions. All candidates for a position must be assessed by the same set of tools.

Objectivity and honesty. In order to make an assessment truly objective, it is necessary to use the tools that are relevant to the position, evaluate the qualities needed for this position, and have proven their validity and reliability.

Objective assessment of internal candidates not only helps you to select the best of the best. The use of modern assessment tools for internal recruitment ensures enhancement of competence across the organization and allows any company to measure the real potential of employees – the basis for their future achievements and victories.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×