不仅仅是工作面试。雇主使用哪些其他评估方法

在许多公司,候选人要经过几个阶段的挑选。从第一次面试到第一天上班,候选人可能要接受一些测试,与心理学家和招聘人员交谈,集体面试,所有这些可能需要几个月的时间。CleverControl询问雇主,除了面试之外,他们还使用哪些评估工具。

在得到工作之前,我们都要经过面试:这似乎是最自然和最容易选择的方式。但我们能认为这种方法是准确的吗?

去年,国家经济研究局(NBER)--美国最大的非营利性经济研究组织--进行了一项实验,并证明经验和直觉可以使招聘人员失败。研究人员观察了15家不同公司的30万个空缺职位的招聘过程。所有被雇用的候选人中,一部分是由人选择的,另一部分则是根据测试结果和计算机的推荐。由机器推荐的员工在其公司的平均工作时间比其他人长8%,而那些由招聘人员雇用的员工并不比那些被机器选中的人工作得更好。

事实证明,通常的面试并不足以选择理想的候选人。这就是为什么许多公司使用其他评估方法的原因。

案例和测试任务

为了什么?跟随候选人的思路,了解他或她解决专业问题的能力。

谁在使用。61%的雇主。并非所有的人都使用专业开发的测试,有时它是以面试时的几个问题的形式使用。

专业知识测试

作用:测试候选人的专业知识及其能力。同时,这个测试可以证实或反驳简历中的信息。

谁在使用。44%的雇主。这些测试大多是举行工程和技术人员的测试。

性格测试和问卷调查

目的:了解什么是真正激励候选人的因素,以及他或她能在工作中展示哪些能力。不是每个人都能在面试中 "推销 "自己,令人信服地谈论自己的优势。性格测试和问卷调查可以替人做这件事。

这些测试并不对人进行评估,也不像心理学家在治疗过程中那样试图找出人格问题。招聘人员感兴趣的是找出工作环境中人类行为的具体特征以及候选人的优势和劣势:例如,说服能力、管理倾向、与客户沟通、团队工作、服从指示和分析工作成果的能力。

谁在使用。35%的雇主。

测试类型:职业性格问卷OPQ、R.Cattell的16PF问卷、多因素领导力问卷(MLQ)、Eysenck性格问卷等。

评估中心

目的:看到一个人在接近现实的条件下 "在现场 "从事一项工作。

评估中心可能需要三个小时或三天,取决于工作要求和雇主的意愿。通常情况下,它基于一个商业游戏,几个求职者一起解决一个商业问题,然后向委员会介绍他们的计划。求职者要经历自我介绍、个人和团队工作。通常评估中心包括各种个性和能力测试。

谁在使用。16%的雇主。这种方法时间长,费用高。为了妥善组织,公司往往不得不雇用外部指挥者。由于复杂性和成本评估中心最常被用来填补公司最重要的职位:销售和采购经理、服务人员、管理人员。

能力测试

目的:鉴定候选人学习和处理不同类型信息的能力。这可能是对创造力、语言、数字、音乐能力的测试,等等。这些能力决定了未来在专业和创造性活动和学习中的成功。

测试不仅包括确定智力的任务,还包括确定注意力、记忆力和感知力。它们有助于了解候选人是否适合某种特定类型的活动。它们被广泛用于军队、海军和公共机构的职业指导和人员安置。

谁在使用。57%的公司。它通常用于评估年轻的求职者和那些想改变活动类型的人:测试显示了缺乏经验的候选人的能力,在积极探索新知识的背景下。

关于外语知识的测试

目的:检查候选人是否真的具有中级水平,正如简历上所列。

谁在使用。10%的公司。特别受行政职位的欢迎,例如助理或秘书。

测谎仪

用途:测谎仪在说谎和偷窃不被商业接受的行业中很受欢迎。通过测谎仪,雇主可以检查大型银行和仓库工作人员以及特殊服务部门的潜在雇员。

谁在使用。4%的公司。

More Than a Job Interview: What Other Assessment Methods Employers Use

interview

More Than a Job Interview: What Other Assessment Methods Employers Use

In many companies, the candidates will have to go through several stages of selection. Between the first interview and the first day of work, a candidate might undergo a few tests, talk with a psychologist and a recruiter, group interviews and all of it might take a few months. CleverControl asked employers what other assessment tools they use in addition to interviews.

Before getting the job we all go through an interview: it seems to be the most natural and the easiest way of choosing the best. But can we consider this method accurate?

Last year, the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) – the largest nonprofit economic research organization in the United States – has conducted an experiment and proved that experience and intuition can fail a recruiter. The researchers observed the recruitment process of 300,000 vacancies in 15 different companies. One part of all hired candidates was selected by the people, and the other one – based on the test results and recommendations of the computer. Employees who were recommended by the machine stayed in their companies 8% longer on average than the others, and those hired by recruiters worked no better than those who was chosen by the machine.

It turns out that the usual interview is not enough to choose the ideal candidate. That is why many companies use other methods of assessment.

Cases and test tasks

What for: To follow the train of thought of the candidate and learn about his or her abilities to solve professional problems.

Who uses: 61% of employers. Not all of them use professionally developed tests, sometimes it is used in a form of a few questions during the interview.

Tests of professional knowledge

What for: to test the professional knowledge of a candidate and his or her competencies. At the same time, this test can confirm or refute the information in the resume.

Who uses: 44% of employers. Most of these tests are held engineering and technical personnel.

Personality tests and questionnaires

What for: to understand what really motivates the candidate and which competencies he or she can demonstrate on the job. Not everyone can “sell” themselves during an interview and convincingly talk about their strengths. Personality tests and questionnaires can do it for the person.

These tests do not assess the person and do not try to identify personality problems like a psychologist would during a therapy session. Recruiters are interested in finding out specific features of human behavior in work situations as well as strengths and weaknesses of a candidate: for example, the ability to persuade, the propensity to manage, to communicate with customers, to work in a team, ability to follow instructions and to analyze work results.

Who uses: 35% of employers.

Test types: professional personality questionnaire OPQ, R. Cattell’s 16PF questionnaire, Multifactor Leadership Questionnaire (MLQ), Eysenck Personality Questionnaire and others. 

Assessment centre

What for: to see a person “in the field” working on a task in conditions close to reality.

Assessment centre can take three hours or three days, depending on the job requirements and employer’s wishes. Usually, it is based on a business game in which several candidates are working together to solve a business problem and then present their plan to the Commission. Jobseeker goes through self-presentation, individual and team work. Often Assessment centre includes a variety of personality and aptitude tests.

Who uses: 16% of employers. This method is long and expensive. To organize it properly, companies often have to hire external conductors. Due to the complexity and cost Assessment centre is most often used to fill the most important positions in the company: sales and purchasing managers, service personnel, management staff.

Ability tests

What for: to identify the candidate’s ability to learn and work with different types of information. This may be the test of creativity, verbal, numeric, musical abilities, and so on. These abilities determine the future success in professional and creative activity and learning.

Tests include tasks determining not only intelligence but also attention, memory, and perception. They help to understand whether the candidate is suitable for a particular type of activity. They are widely used for vocational guidance and personnel placement in the army, the navy and in public institutions.

Who uses: 57% of companies. It is often used for the assessment of young job seekers and those who want to change the type of activity: test shows the abilities of the candidate with a lack of experience, in the context of an active exploration of new knowledge.

The tests on the knowledge of foreign languages

What for: to check whether a candidate really has intermediate level, as it was listed on the resume.

Who uses: 10% of companies. Especially popular for administrative positions, for example, assistants or secretaries.

Lie detector

What for: the polygraph is popular in industries where lying and stealing are not acceptable for business. With the polygraph, employers check potential employees in large banks and warehouses staff, as well as special services.

Who uses: 4% of companies.

interview

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×