干部不能解决一切问题

我经常听到关于现在许多人力资源专业人士的无能。这通常是说那些负责招聘的人。或者,更准确地说,是那些决定一个候选人是否合适的人。一般来说,他们都是年轻的女性。

抱怨的主要原因是缺乏正确评估专业候选人的技能和傲慢的面试风格。

我想我将证实这些观点,因为我曾多次目睹过类似的情况。其中一次发生在多年前的一次工作面试中,当时我还是一个年轻的专业人士,有着令人印象深刻的经历。之后,我确实得到了这份工作,但不是在主持面试的人力资源经理的帮助下得到的。相反,我是偶然得到的。

在我到达指定时间后,我被故意挡在门外大约一个半小时。当我内心的平静和忍耐让位于更强烈的负面情绪时,我决定等待。我想知道这将如何结束。整整一个小时三十分钟后,傲慢的女声邀请我进入办公室。人力资源总监关闭了她电脑上的纸牌游戏窗口,并示意我坐到椅子上。然后她拿出我的三张简历,研究了一下,好像她是第一次看到它。之后,她问了我几个一般性的问题,这些问题与我的技能或工作要求无关:我在哪里读书,我在哪里出生,我以前的工作是什么。我所面试的职位要求我掌握两门外语。所以我被问及我的外语水平如何。我说 "很好",面试就结束了。她想说再见,但我问她是否想测试我的语言能力。对此,她回答说她对我的能力很有信心。"谢谢你,我们会给你打电话",就这样她结束了会面。

在我离开的时候,我遇到了我未来的主管,事实上,他是在寻找具有两种外语知识的专家。我稍稍放慢脚步,看到他在人力资源部门里张望,询问面试的情况。"没有一个合适的候选人,"超然的女声说。这时,我站在门边,把我的简历递给了那个提出要和我谈话的人。在这家公司,我工作了很多年,达到了很高的职业高度,给公司和自己带来了巨大的职业和商业利益。

效率低下的原因

不幸的是,今天的情况没有任何不同。在我看来,有两个原因。首先是传统。尽管 "干部决定一切",但人力资源部门一直是任何公司中效率最低的部门之一。因此,工作人员的专业性仅限于填写各种表格和文件以及跟踪工作时间。它不需要太多的技能和知识,而且工资也不高。这就是为什么人力资源部门工作人员的积极性不高,因此,他们的专业性和经验也是如此。正因为如此,他们可能没有足够的能力来正确评估候选人。他们无法核实外语知识,因为他们自己不懂外语(如果他们懂,他们可能就不会在人力资源部门工作)。他们不能评估技能和能力,因为他们自己并不具备这些能力。最重要的是,他们没有适当的经验和心理学教育,无法看到候选人的潜力,也无法在面试中揭示这种潜力,或者至少在工作面试的压力下,帮助候选人自由和轻松地说话。

第二个原因,部分源于第一个原因,即缺乏内在的成熟、智慧和自足。这导致了宣扬自己的欲望,感受到权力和重要性,使内部未实现的野心得以实现。这导致了傲慢的谈话,尴尬的问题,以及其他伪装成 "压力面试 "的行为。

可能的解决方案

所以你可能会问该怎么办。我只能希望这种情况会改变。它已经开始改变了。人力资源部门正得到应有的重视。

从事人力资源工作的专业人员现在受到更多的赞赏,被视为公司的主要组成部分之一。毕竟,做生意的都是人。在当今大多数领先的公司中,都有在商业和管理方面具有丰富经验的专业人员,他们拥有心理学学位。他们可以从专业的角度看待候选人,能够在面试中揭示他们个性的最佳品质,并看到他们的潜力和未来的机会。如果不幸遇到 "来自过去 "的人力资源经理,这里有一些真正的解决方案。

寻找机会认识你的直接主管。他或她很可能会欣赏你的技能和专业精神。否则,公司很可能一直没有一个好的专业人员,和专家。

而如果你不能突破主管,那么还是要努力通过第一阶段--面试。不要用你的知识和令人印象深刻的经验来烦扰人力资源经理。尽量显得谦虚。给自己定一个目标,只要让他们喜欢你。那么你就有机会通过第二轮面试。

你也可以尝试 "适应 "你的面试官,并创造一种融洽的关系。试着找到主导动机,很可能是对权威的认可。因此,用几句恭维的话来证明招聘者的重要性是不会错的。但最主要的是不要做得太过分。

在面试中,有能力的人力资源经理应该问一些能显示你专业能力的问题。如果你觉得专家对这个问题不太了解,有两个建议:使用STAR技术(情况、任务、行动、结果),谈谈你在以前工作中的成就,但尽量使用简单易懂的术语。第二个选择是礼貌地要求邀请一位能够评估你能力的员工参加面试。当然,这是一个非常冒险和极端的步骤,但如果你觉得情况无望,你可以尝试这样做。

Cadres Do Not Solve Everything

cadres

Cadres Do Not Solve Everything

I often hear about the incompetence of many HR professionals nowadays. It is usually said about those who are responsible for hiring. Or, to be more accurate, those who decide if a candidate is suitable or not. As a rule, they are young and female.

The main cause of complaint is the lack of skills in proper evaluation of professional candidates and arrogant style of interviewing.

I think I will confirm these opinions because I have witnessed similar situations many times. One of them took place during a job interview many years ago when I was a young professional with an impressive experience. Afterward, I did get the job but not with the help of the HR manager who conducted. Instead, I got it by accident.

After I arrived at the appointed time, I was kept near the door for about one and a half hours on purpose. When my inner peace and endurance gave way to more vigorous negative feelings, I decided to wait. I wondered how this will end. Exactly one hour thirty minutes later supercilious female voice invited me into the office. Human Resources Director closed Solitaire window on her computer and gestured me to a chair. Then she pulled out my three-sheet resume and studied it as if she saw it for the first time. After that, she asked me a few general questions, which had nothing to do with my skills or job requirements: where I studied, where I was born, what was my previous job. The position I was interviewed for required the knowledge of two foreign languages. So I was asked how well I can speak them. I said “well” and the interview was over. She wanted to say goodbye, but I asked if she would like to test my language skills. To which she answered that she was confident in my competence. “Thank you, we’ll call you”, and thus she ended the meeting.

On my way out I met my future supervisor who was, in fact, the one looking for the expert with the knowledge in two foreign languages. I slowed down a little and saw him looking in the HR department’s door, asking how the interviews were going. “Not one suitable candidate,” said the supercilious female voice. At that moment I was standing near the door and handed my resume to the man offering to talk to me. In this company I worked for many years, reached great career heights, bringing great professional and commercial benefits to the company and to myself.

Unfortunately, today the situation is not any different. In my opinion, there are two reasons. First one is the tradition. Despite the fact that “cadres decide everything” the Human Resources department has always been one of the most inefficient ones in any company. Therefore, professionalism of the staff is limited to filling various forms and documents and track working time. It does not require too much skill and knowledge and is not paid well. That’s why HR staff’s motivation is not excellent and, consequently, the same goes for their professionalism and experience. Because of this, they may not have sufficient competence to properly evaluate the candidates. They cannot verify the knowledge of foreign languages, as they themselves do not know any (if they did, they probably would not be working in HR). They cannot assess skills and competence, as they themselves do not possess them. And most importantly, they do not have the proper experience and psychological education, to see the potential of a candidate and to be able to reveal it during the interview, or at least help the candidate to speak freely and easily given the level of stress job interviews are associated with.

The second reason, which partly derives from the first one is the lack of internal maturity, wisdom, and self-sufficiency. This leads to the desire to assert oneself, to feel the power and importance, to bring to life internal unrealized ambitions. This leads to haughty conversations, embarrassing questions, and other actions masquerading as the parts of a “stress interview”.

So you might ask what to do. I can only hope that this situation will change. It has already begun to change. HR departments are being given due attention.

Professionals who work in human resources are now appreciated more and are seen as one of the main company’s components. After all, it‘s people who do business. In most leading companies of today, there are professionals with extensive experience in business and management who have a degree in psychology. They can see the candidates in a professional light, are able to reveal the best qualities of their personality during the interview, and see their potential and future opportunities. And if were unlucky enough to meet HR manager “from the past”, here there are some real solutions:

Look for opportunities to meet your immediate supervisor. He or she will most likely to be able to appreciate your skills and professionalism. Otherwise, the company is likely to remain without a good professional, and expert.

And if you cannot break through to the supervisor then try to still pass the first stage – the interview. Do not bore HR managers with your knowledge and impressive experience. Try to look modest. Set yourself a goal to just get them to like you. Then there is a chance that you will pass to the second round.

You can also try to “adapt” to your interviewer and create a rapport. Try to find the leading motivation, most likely it will be recognition of the authority. So a couple of compliments to demonstrate the importance of the recruiter will not go amiss. But the main thing here is not to overdo it.

At the interview competent HR manager should ask questions which reveal your professional competence. If you feel that a specialist is not quite versed in the subject, there are two recommendations: talk about your achievements in a previous job, using the STAR technique (Situation, Task, Action, Result), but try to use simple and easy-to-understand terms. The second option is to politely ask to invite to the interview an employee who can evaluate your competencies. This, of course, is a very risky and extreme step but if you feel that the situation is hopeless you can try this.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×