关于生产力的10个神话,你必须停止追求

今天,我们中的许多人都在追求生产力,尝试使用不同的工具和技术。然而,为了尽可能地提高工作效率,我们往往不是为了生产力本身,而是为了它的理念而渴望。我们阅读聪明的文章,毫不犹豫地遵循专家的建议,并等待它发挥作用。

事实是,没有适合每个人的生产力的通用秘诀。为了成功,你必须考虑到现有的关于生产力的神话。我们将在这篇文章中介绍最广泛传播的神话。

误区一。早起的鸟儿有虫吃

让我们承认,每个人都曾经遇到过类似 "为什么一个成功的领导者必须在早上4点起床 "的文章。早起真的有助于提高生产力吗?我们习惯于认为,由于早起,我们有额外的时间来解决当前的任务和积压的工作。但这并不完全正确。根据一些研究,要想取得最大的成效,你应该在你最方便的时间工作。

如果你注意到你在上午的时间里真的很有生产力,而且能很好地集中注意力,那么试着在一天的前半段解决最重要的任务。这同样适用于 "夜猫子":利用晚上和夜间的时间来发挥最大优势。真正阻碍你生产力的是试图让自己在对你的机体不方便的时间工作。

误区二。你必须只在办公室里有生产力

这种说法在十年前可能是公平的,当时手头没有任何有用的应用程序,但在今天的世界上,这已经不是事实了。 许多研究表明,在家里或咖啡馆工作确实能提高你的生产力。有了正确的工具,远程和分布式的团队可以像经常在办公室工作的人一样有效地工作。

这主要是关于偏好和习惯。那些对在办公室工作感到舒服的人,在办公室里被同事们包围着,将是最有效率的。然而,内向的人和宅男往往作为远程员工取得最大的成功。关键是,当人们在舒适的条件下工作时,他们的生产力最高。

误区三。睡眠是弱者的事

睡眠以及觉醒是一个个体因素。有些人每天需要8小时以上的睡眠,但对有些人来说,6小时就很足够了。此外,个人对睡眠的需求会因心情、季节、精神压力和其他因素而有所不同。然而,睡眠不足确实会降低你的工作效率。因此,你应该找出你个人需要多少时间的睡眠,并尽量不要打破你的制度。

误区四。忙碌=有成效

当你不断地忙碌时,就会产生一种错觉,以为自己很有生产力,可以控制自己的时间。如果你自豪地在你的检查清单上勾选了一项工作,这并不意味着你是富有成效的。如果这份清单上都是不重要的、不紧急的任务,可以委托别人去做,或者根本不做,这就不能称为生产力。

为了确保你的行动带来最大的结果,要学会安排任务的优先次序,先做最重要的任务。

误区五。你必须让自己克服颓势

一个相当流行的建议。"生产力的关键是在学会在衰退期工作"。但为什么要把你的力量浪费在非生产性的工作时间上?最好是把这段时间用来解决不需要大量参与的简单日常工作。例如,扔掉废纸,检查电子邮件收件箱或休息一下,呼吸一下新鲜空气。不要在一天中效率较低的时候浪费你宝贵的精力。

误区六。工作高于一切

真正成功和富有成效的人知道,一个人不应该把工作放在生活中的其他事情之前。真正的艺术是在私人生活和工作之间找到平衡。

如果你决定在周末工作,请将严格规定的时间用于工作。否则,想成为最有效率的人,你就有可能在整个周末被工作所困。如果你没有足够的休息,你根本无法恢复你的力量,下周你的生产力水平将大大降低。

误区七。多任务处理是一切

该领域的研究表明,多任务处理是生产力的杀手。不可能同时做两件事情并同时保持高效。事实上,多任务处理是在同一时间段内从一件事不断切换到另一件事。每次切换时,你的大脑需要一些时间来专注于新的任务。

多任务处理对你的工作质量也有消极影响。如果你总是从一个任务跳到另一个任务,总的结果可能相当糟糕。

误区八。互联网是生产力的敌人

有些人坚持认为,互联网让我们的大脑充满了无用的信息,让我们减少了思考或自己寻找解决方案。当然,全球网络中存在一定程度的信息噪音,但互联网让我们变笨的结论是错误的。

恰恰相反,互联网帮助我们节省时间,把时间花在真正有用的任务上。在谷歌上搜索某些信息,而不是在你的记忆中保留大量无用的数字和日期,这并没有错。

误区九。你工作的时间越多,你做的工作就越多

你在办公室花的时间越多,你设法完成的任务就越多,这种说法并非100%正确。根据帕金森定律,工作会在我们给它的时间内收缩。例如,如果你决定今天6点下班,你就会带着更高的动力去工作,在这个时间之前完成所有的工作。如果你决定可以加班做更多的事情,那么你很有可能会完成同样数量的任务,但在每个任务上花费更多时间。

误区10.干净的工作桌有助于提高你的生产力

一张干净的工作桌是否有助于提高你的工作效率,取决于人和他或她的个人喜好。研究表明,有些人需要在他们的桌子上有一些创造性的混乱,才能有创造性和效率。不是每个人在完美组织的工作场所都会有生产力。

上面所说的大多数神话的问题是,它们不是普遍的真实。这就是为什么当你试图提高你的生产力时,要专注于自己,并明智地使用建议和方法。

10 Myths About Productivity That You Must Stop Pursuing

10 Myths About Productivity That You Must Stop Pursuing

Today many of us are in the pursuit of productivity, experimenting with different tools and techniques. However, trying to be as much effective as possible, we often aspire not for productivity itself but for the idea of it. We read smart articles, follow the expert advice without a question and wait for it to work.

The truth is that there is no universal recipe for productivity suitable for everyone. To succeed, you must take into consideration the existing myths about productivity. We are going to cover the most widely spread ones in this article.

Myth #1. The early bird catches the worm

Let’s admit, everyone has ever run into an article like “Why a successful leader must get up at 4 a.m”. Does getting up early really contributes to the higher productivity? We got used to thinking that thanks to waking up early we have additional time for solving current tasks and backlogs. But that is not entirely true. According to several studies, to be the most effective, you should work at the time that is the most convenient for you.

If you notice that you are really productive and can focus well during the morning hours, try to solve the most important tasks in the first half of the day. The same applies to “night owls”: use the evening and the night time to the maximum advantage. What is really hindering your productivity is the attempt to make yourself work at the time which is not convenient for your organism.

Myth #2. You must be productive only in the office

This statement was probably fair a decade ago when there were no useful applications at hand, but it is not true anymore in today’s world.  Many studies show that working from home or a cafe indeed increases your productivity. With the right tools remote and distributed teams can work as effectively as the ones that constantly work in an office.

This is mostly about preferences and habits. People who are comfortable about working in the office surrounded by the colleagues will be the most productive in the office. However, introverts and homebodies often achieve the greatest success as remote employees. The point is that people are most productive when they work in comfortable conditions.

Myth #3. Sleep is for weaklings

Sleep as well as waking up is an individual factor. Some people need more than 8 hours of sleep every day, but for some people, 6 hours are quite enough. Moreover, the individual need of sleep can vary depending on the mood, the season, the mental strain and other factors. However, the lack of sleep indeed decreases your productivity. So, you should find out how much time of sleep is necessary personally for you and try not to break your regime.

Myth #4. Being busy=being productive

When you are constantly busy, there is an illusion that you are very productive and control your time. If you proudly tick a job done in your check-list, this doesn’t mean that you are productive. If this check-list is full of unimportant and non-urgent tasks that can be delegated or not done at all, this cannot be called productivity.

To ensure that your actions bring the maximum result, learn to prioritize tasks and work on the most important ones first.

Myth #5. You must make yourself overcome declines

A rather popular advice: “The key to productivity is in to learn to work during declines”. But why waste your powers on non-productive working hours? It is better to spend this time with use to solve simple routine tasks which do not require great involvement. For example, throw away scrap papers, check the email inbox or take a break and get some fresh air. Don’t waste your precious energy at the time of the day when you are less productive.

Myth #6. Work is above all

Really successful and productive people know that one shouldn’t put work before everything else in life. The true art is to find the balance between the private life and work.

If you decide to work on weekends, devote strictly regulated hours to it. Otherwise, trying to be the most productive, you risk getting bogged down in work for the whole weekend. If you don’t have enough rest, you simply won’t regain your power and your level of productivity will decrease greatly next week.

Myth #7. Multitasking is everything

Studies in this field show that multitasking is the killer of productivity. It is impossible to do two things at once and be effective at the same time. In fact, multitasking is constant switching from one thing to another at one and the same period of time. Every time you switch your brain needs some time to focus on the new task.

Multitasking also has a negative influence on the quality of your work. If you skip from one task to another all the time, the general result can be quite poor.

Myth #8. The Internet is the enemy of productivity

Some people insist that the Internet fills our brains with useless information, makes us think or look for solutions by ourselves less. Of course, there is a certain level of information noise in the global network, but the conclusion that the Internet makes us dumb is wrong.

Quite the reverse, the Internet helps us to save time and spend it on the truly useful tasks. There is nothing wrong about googling the certain information instead of keeping a lot of useless numbers and dates in your memory.

Myth#9. The more time you work, the more work you do

The statement that the more time you spend in the office, the more tasks you manage to complete is not 100% true. According to the Parkinson’s law, work contracts to fit in the time we give it. For example, if you decide to leave work at 6 today, you will work with the higher motivation to finish everything by this time. If you decided that you can work late to do more, with high probability you will complete the same amount of tasks but spend more time on each one.

Myth #10. A clean work table helps to increase your productivity

Whether a clean work table helps to increase your productivity or not depends on the person and his or her individual preferences. Studies show that some people need some creative chaos on their table to be inventive and efficient. Not every person will be productive at the perfectly organized workplace.

The problem of most myths stated above is that they are not universally true. That is why when you try to increase your productivity, focus on yourself and use advice and methods wisely.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×