如何教导管理人员做出最佳决策?

许多人的生命可能取决于一个经理或主管的一个决定。最佳和正确的决定是如何取决于沟通能力的?

假设你有50,000美元可用于投资。现在想象一下,你有三个顾问。

他们在这里。

  • 一个占星师。

  • 一个有5年经验的财务分析员。

  • 一个4岁的女孩。

你会把你的钱委托给他们中的哪一个?当然,大多数人会相信分析师。而乍一看,这似乎是符合逻辑的,也是正确的。

一个心理学实验

同时,这样的实验实际上是由英国的一位心理学教授进行的。

而这有一个意想不到的结果。

  • 占卜师根据公司成立的日期进行了选择。

  • 金融分析师研究了公司在过去7年的活动,并在此基础上进行投资。

  • 这个女孩从可能的投资名单中随机选择了四家公司。

即使是第一个结果也是比较有趣的。在实验的第一周,占星师损失了10%的钱,分析家损失了7%,而女孩--4%。但这还不是全部。

该实验被设计为持续一年。而一年后,结果更加令人激动。由于市场的波动,占星师最终损失了6%,金融分析师损失了46%(!!!)。相比之下,这个4岁的女孩居然赚了5.6%,这让人印象深刻,不是吗?

那么我们是否应该把重要的决定权交给孩子?

我们如何解释这一点呢?有人可能会说,我们必须停止信任专家,开始向小孩子征求意见。但这不是问题的关键。

如果一个专家知道僵硬的因果关系,他或她就能高度准确地预测结果,并做出最佳决策。但是,如果事件之间的联系不是一个事实,而更多的是一个概率,那么专家的意见就只是一个意见,而没有别的。在这种情况下,正如实验所示,顾问之间几乎没有任何区别。

有时,专家的经验和知识甚至会妨碍做出正确的决定,因为它们是基于个人的过去。而未来往往与过去的经验不同。

那么,任何人,尤其是经理和高管,如何才能做出一个重要的决定呢?另一个实验回答了这个问题。

"集体智慧"

比投资实验更早的时候,还进行了另一项实验。几百人被问到一个非常具体和困难的问题。几乎没有人知道正确的答案,所以他们根据自己的意见给出答案。这些答案非常不同,大部分都是错误的。但是,当指挥者把所有的答案放在一起,并提取一种平均值时,结果是完全正确的!因此,每个人的答案都是正确的。因此,事实证明,每个人单独都是错的,但他们一起都是对的。

这听起来很耐人寻味。这意味着,为了得到一个值得关注的答案并做出一个好的决定,我们需要尽可能多的意见。此外,这些意见必须是不同的,甚至是两极的。然后我们就坚持做一些平均的东西。

这似乎很简单。但人们是苛刻的动物,他们的答案在很大程度上取决于他们对提问者的看法。因此,如果你决定收集几个意见来做一个改变生活的决定,你最好对你的沟通技巧有把握。否则,你可能得到的信息太晚,不完整,或不正确。

但在公司里,我们经常看到不同的情况。员工(全部)拥有必要的信息来绕过竞争对手,或退出危机,等等。但是经理们却没有使用这些信息,可能是因为他们没有想到,或者是因为 "他们更了解"。这种情况看起来很荒谬:你需要的信息就在那里,但同时它又不在那里。

因此,许多领导人越来越意识到他们拥有一种宝贵的资源--"集体智慧"。他们所需要的只是能够进行沟通并提出正确的问题。

How to teach managers to make the best decisions?

employee

How to teach managers to make the best decisions?

Many people’s lives might depend on a single decision of a manager or an executive. How do the best and correct decisions depend on the ability to communicate?

Let’s say you have $50,000 available for investment. And now imagine that you have three advisers.

Here they are:

  • An astrologer.
  • A financial analyst with 5 years of experience.
  • A 4-year-old girl.

Which one of them would you entrust with your money? Of course, the majority would trust the analyst. And at first glance, it seems to be logical and correct.

Meanwhile, such an experiment was actually conducted by a professor of psychology in the UK.

And it had an unexpected result:

– The astrologer made his choice on the basis of the date of company’s foundation.

– The financial analyst examined the activities of the company over the past 7 years and invested on the basis of this analysis.

– The girl has chosen four random companies from the list of possible investments.

Even the first results were more than interesting. During the first week of the experiment the astrologer lost 10% of the money, the analyst lost 7%, and the girl – 4%. But that’s not all.

The experiment was designed to last for a year. And a year later, the results were even more exciting. Due to the fluctuations in the market, the astrologer eventually lost 6%, the financial analyst lost 46% (!!!). In contrast to that the 4-year-old girl actually made the profit of 5.6% which is impressive, isn’t it?

How do we interpret that? Someone might say that we must stop trusting experts and start asking small children for advice. But it is not the point.

If an expert knows a rigid causal relationship, he or she can predict the result with high accuracy and make the best decisions. But if the connection between the events is not a fact but more of a probability, then the opinion of an expert becomes just an opinion and nothing more. In such a situation, as the experiment showed, there is almost no difference between advisors.

Sometimes expert’s experience and knowledge can even prevent from making a correct decision because they are based on the personal past. And the future is often different from the past experience.

So how does anybody, especially managers and executives, can ever make an important decision? Another experiment answers this question.

Much earlier than the investment experiment another one was conducted. Several hundred people were asked a very specific and difficult question. Almost nobody knew the correct answer so they gave answers based on their own opinions. The answers were very different and for the most part wrong. But when the conductors put all of them together and extracted a kind of an average value it turned out exactly correct! Thus, it turned out that every individual was wrong separately, but together they were right!

It sounds intriguing. That means that in order to get an answer worthy of attention and make a good decision, we need as many opinions as possible. Moreover, the opinions must be different or even polar. And then we just stick to something average.

It seems simple. But people are demanding creatures and their answers are highly dependent on what they think about those who ask the questions. So if you decide to gather several opinions to make a life-changing decision, you’d better be sure in your communication skill. Otherwise, you might get the information too late, incomplete, or incorrect.

But in companies, we often see a different picture. Employees (all together) have the necessary information to bypass competitors, or to exit the crisis, etc. But the managers do not use it probably because it did not occur to them or because “they know better”. The situation looks ridiculous: the information you need is right there but at the same time it is not.

Therefore, many leaders are becoming increasingly aware that they have a valuable resource – “collective intelligence”. All they need is to be able to communicate and ask the right questions.

employee

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×