职业文化。如何处理迟到的问题?

职业文化。如何处理迟到的问题?

如何处理那些 "迟到者"?发放电子门禁卡,从工资中减去迟到的分钟数,或者出台规定,每个迟到的员工都要在罐子里放5美元,效果如何?你还可以用什么来约束这样的员工:向经理介绍谈话,训斥,漫画,或者也许,不注意?MBA课程 "管理创新 "的主任Emily Reid告诉CleverControl如何以及何时惩罚迟到的员工。

当然,首先,你需要研究情况的背景,没有这个背景,就不可能做出正确的决定。每种类型的活动,每个市场情况,以及每个职业文化都是独特的。因此,我们需要讨论如何处理延迟问题,在不同的情况下,...

...纪律是效率的先决条件

我们不能不同意这样一个事实:如果一个办公室在上午10点开门,秘书必须在9点59分准备好接听电话。

如果信息牌上写着,商店里唯一的销售员应该从早上9点到晚上21点都在工作岗位上。

飞行员不能在飞行中迟到。

一般来说,这样的纪律要求,由于常识,很容易控制,因为它是明确的,实际的,不会引起任何怀疑。当得到一份工作,其实施将在明确的时间界限内进行,未来的员工明白,准时是他或她的基本绩效指标。

因为在这种情况下,纪律直接关系到商品和服务的质量(并因此关系到客户的忠诚度和公司的经济活力),所以没有必要把时间浪费在漫画、罚款和其他 "花招 "上。你可以允许员工迟到一两次,以不可抗力或一些意外情况为借口,但第三次你就可以安全地解雇他或她。

......纪律是良好风度的体现

每个有教养的人都知道,让别人等待是不礼貌的。

同样不礼貌的是,在与客户和同事开会时,或在看医生时,或在去美容院时,迟到了。

所有的公司都有自己的文化准则:在一些公司,他们会在你面前扶着门并微笑,在另一些公司--对你的 "谢谢你,再见!"只是咕哝几句。考虑到有礼貌的人更容易相处,文化准则可以而且应该通过刻意的行动来改变。

与这样的人非正式地交谈,交朋友,更好地了解对方,如果你们是同事,则更能信任对方。

如果你是他们的客户,从他们那里购买和听取他们的促销优惠会更令人愉快。这意味着客户和合作伙伴会更乐意与具有 "国王的礼貌 "的人合作。

礼貌是有回报的,尊重他人的时间是礼貌的一种表现。因此,要求员工遵守时间安排是必要的,而且也是合理的,原因很明显。

你应该惩罚那些不承认这一礼仪规则的同事吗?最有可能的是,罚款和训斥是没有用的。但是,当然有必要直接谈论这样一个事实,即开会迟到是不可接受的,以及员工不能识别公司的 "文化准则 "会使他或她在公司的未来受到质疑。守时的大多数人是教育不守时的少数人的最好帮手:当礼貌成为普遍接受的社会规范时,人们会努力遵守它以 "做好人"。

......为了让员工完成工作,需要有纪律。

如果你的员工的表现并不直接取决于他们在10:00或10:30开始一天的工作,那么你为什么会要求他们守时?也许是因为你对员工的工作质量和数量以及他们的态度普遍不满意?

客户数量比原来少了,销售额下降了。然而,销售经理似乎并不在意:他们继续在办公室里走来走去,好像什么都没发生过一样,谈论着他们将如何度过他们的周末。你甚至没有接近公司的商业和其他目标......但到底是哪些目标?

唉,在没有数字化目标和目的的公司,对纪律的讨伐往往成为经理说 "你工作得很糟糕!"的方式。

通常情况下,员工不同意:他们自己认为他们的工作 "很好",甚至 "很好"。但在主观评价的层面上谈论工作是无效的,有必要引入双方都认可的明确、明显的指标,例如。

我们工作得很好,如果。

  • 每个季度,我们的销售增长为 "x"%。

  • 销售人员的流失率不超过 "y "值。

  • 每个月,我们检查年度任务计划,看我们是否遵守时间表:以预定的速度实施企业项目,建立业务流程,测试新产品等等。

请注意,在这个例子中,不仅有经济指标,而且还有事先计划好的公司质量演变的指标!

在这种情况下,你应该与下属交谈,而不是像 "你为什么迟到?",而是 "我们能做什么,才能按照我们的宏伟计划向前推进?"

计划的实施不太可能取决于三十分钟的工作,对吗?相反,它取决于知识、技能,当然还有动机。

这就是问题的关键:公司需要的不是 "有纪律 "的员工,而是那些高效工作的员工。经理们关心的不是员工迟到15分钟的事实,而是他们做得不够好的事实。他们没有完全投入到工作中。但谁会这样呢?也许孩子们在院子里玩一些有趣的游戏?也许吧。不需要说服他们早点来玩游戏,问题很可能恰恰相反--父母不能把他们拖回家。

或者以创业公司的年轻 "书呆子 "为例,他们正在努力创造一些没有人理解的东西,但这个东西很快就会改变世界?这些人一大早就来到他们的车库,他们的动机不是为了避免迟到的惩罚。

我们不太可能在看电影、听重要讲座或参加有趣的专业会议时迟到,因为我们想去那里玩,并获得一些知识。

我们每个人在生活中至少都做过一次自己喜欢的事情,我们都知道,当你需要的时候,你会提前来享受工作。因此,公司不应该把重点放在打击迟到上,而应该把重点放在使工作条件舒适和富有成效上,并寻找那些真正热爱自己职业的人,那些体验到努力工作的深刻心理需求的人。

这就是为什么世界上有越来越多的公司,在这些公司里,迟到没有任何惩罚,而且,迟到的概念本身也不存在。这些公司并没有为自己设定控制工作时间的任务。相反,他们正在努力创造一种环境,让人们愿意呆在这里,在这里玩耍,在这里发明,在这里行动!

我们钦佩他们的文化,有时它让我们感到惊讶:我的一个朋友最近在一家跨国公司的美国办事处找到一份工作。他滑稽地讲述了这样一个故事:对于他的工作时间问题,除了 "如果你能在八点到十点之间来,那就太好了...... "之外,他没有得到任何其他答案。

他努力工作,做好工作。他喜欢这样。

他的经理只对如何让他多休息几天感到疑惑。

公司尽最大努力在世界各地选择像我的朋友这样的员工,并对他们有吸引力。

这样的公司通常不会有延误的问题。但也有这样的情况:...

...控制纪律的习惯是管理者的心理需求。

恰好,控制的功能是识别 "管理者 "的本质。

这种经理人支持严格的等级制度--从上到下--的公司模式,知道他或她的基本管理工具是皱眉头和命令式的声音。

有时甚至不是因为出了问题。经理人只是认为他或她一放松就会出现混乱。

剥夺这样的经理人的专制管理风格的属性,让他或她与下属平等交流,他或她会立即感到软弱。

不幸的是,这些经理除了 "监视 "之外,往往没有任何其他管理技能。他们不从事业务系统的设计,不制定业务战略,不研究客户或行业,不成功地担任中层管理人员的教练......唉,这就是与迟到斗争的最悲哀和几乎无法解决的背景:当经理人忙于纪律,因为......好吧,他或她还应该控制什么?

"迟到的管理 "没有一套通用的正确工具。在某些情况下,软弱变成了放任,这使公司失去了利润、客户,并导致声誉受损。

在不同的情况下,紧缩会导致隐蔽的破坏、隐瞒知识和小规模的报复,尤其是在这种紧缩没有客观理由的时候。

同时,很难找到一种比 "幼儿园文化 "更不具生产力的文化,因为时间表是由 "成人 "确定的,而 "儿童 "则受制于它。

该怎么做?分析问题的所有复杂性,包括企业文化、业务流程、等级制度和管理技能。只有在这种情况下,你才能够设计出对你的公司有效的解决方案!

A good way to maintain discipline and control lateness is employee monitoring. The monitoring software will track when the employee comes and leaves and how much time they spend working. It will be particularly convenient for offices where employees' schedules are flexible, as it will save a lot of the manager's time controlling attendance. At the same time, the software will be a much less stressful method of monitoring for employees than the manager's direct control. Today's market offers plenty of employee tracking solutions for every taste and budget. If you want to know how to choose the best one for your company, check out our guide .

Professional Culture: How to Deal with Lateness?

late employee

Professional Culture: How to Deal with Lateness?

What to do with the “latecomers”? How effective is issuing electronic access cards and subtracting minutes of lateness from wages or introducing the rule that every employee who is late should put $5 in a jar? What else can you use to discipline such employees: introduce talks to the manager, reprimanding, caricaturing, or maybe, not paying attention? Director of the MBA program “Innovation in Management” Emily Reid told CleverControl how and when to punish employees for being late.

First of all, of course, you need to examine the context of the situation, without which it is impossible to make the right decision. Each type of activity, every market situation, and each professional culture is unique. Therefore, we need to discuss how to deal with delays, in different situations where…

…where discipline is a prerequisite of efficiency

We cannot disagree with the fact that if an office opens at 10 AM the secretary must be ready to answer calls at 9:59.

The only sales clerk in a store should be present on the job from 9 AM to 21 PM if the information sign says so.

A pilot cannot be late for a flight.

As a rule, such a requirement of discipline, due to common sense, is easy to control, because it is clear, practical, and does not cause any doubts. When getting a job, the implementation of which will take place in clear time boundaries, the future employee understands that punctuality is his or her basic Key Performance Indicator.

Since the discipline, in this case, is directly linked to the quality of goods and services (and consequently to customer loyalty and economic viability of the company) there is no point in wasting time on caricatures, fines and other “tricks”. You can allow an employee to be late one or two times excusing it with force majeure or some unexpected circumstances, but the third time you are safe to dismiss him or her.

…where discipline is a manifestation of good manners

Every well-mannered person knows that making someone wait is impolite.

Equally impolite is to be late for a meeting with clients and with colleagues, or to the doctor’s appointment, or to a beauty salon.

All companies have their own cultural code: in some, they will hold the door before you and smile, in others – just mumble something in response to your “Thank you, goodbye!” The cultural code can and should be changed with deliberate action considering that politer people are nicer to be around.

It is nicer to talk to such people informally, make friends, get to know each other better and trust each other more if you are colleagues.

It is more pleasant to buy from them and listen to their promotional offers if you are their customer. This means that customers and partners will be more pleased to work with someone who has the “politeness of kings”.

Politeness pays off well, and respect for others’ time is a manifestation of politeness. Therefore, asking employees to comply with time arrangements is necessary, and it is also rational for obvious reasons.

Should you punish the colleagues who do not recognize this etiquette rule? Most likely, fines and reprimands will be useless. But it is, of course, necessary to talk directly about the fact that being late to meetings is unacceptable, as well as the fact that the employee’s inability to recognize company’s “cultural code” brings his or her future in the company into question. A punctual majority is the best helper in educating the unpunctual minority: when politeness becomes a generally accepted social norm, people will try to adhere to it to “be good.”

…where discipline is needed in order for employees to perform the work

If the performance of your employees is not directly dependent on when they start their day at 10:00 or 10:30, then why would you demand punctuality? Perhaps it is because you are generally not satisfied with the quality and quantity of the employees’ work and their attitude?

Clients count is less than it could be, sales are down. Sales managers, however, do not seem to care: they continue walking about the office as if nothing has happened, talking about how they will spend their weekends. You are not even close to commercial and other goals of the company… but which ones exactly?!

Alas, in companies without digitized goals and objectives the crusade for discipline often becomes manager’s way to say “You are working badly!”

As a rule, employees do not agree: they themselves believe that they work “fine” or even “well.” But it is ineffective to talk about work on the level of subjective assessment, it is necessary to introduce clear, obvious metrics that are recognized by both sides, for example:

We work well if:

– Each quarter, our sales grow for the “x”% value;

– Turnover of sales staff does not exceed the “y” value;

– Each month, we check the annual tasks plan to see that we adhere to the schedule: implement corporate projects at a predetermined rate, build business processes, test new products and so on.

Notice that in the example there are not only economic indicators but also indicators of planned in advance quality evolution of the company!

In this case, you should talk with the subordinates not like “Why are you late?”, but rather “What can we do to move forward in line with our ambitious plan?”

It is unlikely that the plan’s implementation depends on thirty minutes of work, right? It rather depends on the knowledge, skills and, of course, motivation.

That’s the point: companies need not so much “disciplined” employees but those who work efficiently. And managers are concerned not so much with the fact that the employees come to the office 15 minutes late, but the fact that they do not do enough. They do not commit themselves to work completely. But who does? Maybe children playing some entertaining game in a courtyard ? Perhaps. They do not need to be convinced to come to the game earlier, the problem is most likely the opposite – parents cannot drag them home.

Or take for example young “nerds” in a startup company who are trying to create something that no one understands but that thing will soon change the world? These guys come to their garage early in the morning, and they are not motivated by a desire to avoid the penalty for lateness.

We are unlikely to be late to the movies, an important lecture, or an interesting professional conference because we want to come there to have fun and get some knowledge!

Each of us at least once in our lives did something that we loved, and we all know that when you need to, you will come early to enjoy work. Therefore, companies should focus not on combating lateness, but on making the job conditions comfortable and productive and on finding people who truly love their profession, people who experience deep psychological need to work hard.

That is why in the world there are more and more companies, in which there is no penalty for being late, and moreover, the very notion of lateness does not exist. These companies have not set themselves the task of controlling working hours. Instead, they are trying to create the environment in which people want to be, stay, play, invent, and act!

We admire their culture and sometimes it surprises us: a friend of mine recently got a job at an American office of one multinational company. He comically tells the story of how he was not able to get any other answer to his question about his working hours except for “It would be great if you would come somewhere between eight and ten…”

He works hard to do a good job. He likes it.

His manager is only puzzled with how to get him to take more days off.

The company makes the maximum effort to select such employees as my friend all over the world, and to be attractive to them.

Such companies usually do not have problems with delays. But there are situations where…

…where the habit to control discipline is a manager’s psychological need.

It just so happens, that the function of control is the essence of the identification of the “manager”.

This kind of manager supports a strictly hierarchical – top to bottom – company’s model and knows that his or her basic management tools are frowning and commanding voice.

Sometimes it is not even because something goes wrong. The manager just believes there will be chaos the moment he or she relaxes.

Deprive such manager from the attributes of the authoritarian management style, get him or her to communicate with subordinates as equals and he or she will instantly feel weak.

Unfortunately, these managers often do not have any other managerial skills except “surveillance”. They are not engaged in the design of a business system, the development of a business strategy, do not study the customers or the industry and do not succeed as coaches for middle managers … Alas, this is the saddest and almost insoluble context of struggle with the struggle of lateness: when the manager is busy with discipline because… well, what else should he or she control?

“Management of lateness” has no universal set of the right tools. Softness in some situations turns into permissiveness, which costs the company its profits, customers and causes reputational damage.

Austerity in a different situation leads to hidden sabotage, concealment of knowledge, and petty revenge, especially if there are no objective reasons for such austerity.

At the same time, it is hard to find a less productive culture than the “culture of the kindergarten”, when the schedule is defined by the “adults” and the “children” are subjected to it.

What to do? Analyze the problem in all of its complexity, including corporate culture, business processes, hierarchy, and management skills. In this case only, you will be able to design the solution that will be effective for your company!

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Disclaimer

You are hereby informed that by using software like CleverControl monitoring software on computers or other devices that you are not properly authorized to use is considered to be a breach of US federal and state laws. Authorization implies that you have to only install such monitoring software on devices that you rightfully own or with rightful owner’s permission and you also must properly inform all users of the device on which you install such software that they are subjected to monitoring. Failing to comply with the above mentioned conditions can result in law violation and may lead to monetary and criminal penalties. You should consult with your law advisor about legality of using CleverControl software in your jurisdiction before downloading and using it. CleverControl software is only intended for the purposes of employee monitoring. It cannot be employed to monitor a person without his/her knowledge and permission.

×