如果你反对固定时间表,如何计划你的一天?

许多有创造力的人反对任何规则,拒绝计划的想法,结果是他们的生活失去了非常渴望的和谐。

如果你是这样的人,并且没有准备好应对常规,那么现在是时候拒绝按照某人的规则来安排时间的想法,并按照自己的创作节奏、生活节奏及其脉搏来提高个人效率。

设计师和设计书籍的作者Stephen Bradley曾经说过。"无论你知道与否,设计总是有它自己的内在节奏。它为空间带来了意义,并创造了某种情绪。人们正是通过这种节奏来欣赏设计的"。

如果这种方法对你来说是熟悉的,我将分享一些想法,这些想法是我作为时间管理教练通过职业生活和工作经验获得的。它们将帮助你有效地分配你的时间,以及你的权力、兴趣和任务。

月的节奏

通常情况下,如果一个人没有过多的计划,他或她就能在一个月内做更多的事情。大多数人的自然节奏提示,一个大项目可以在一个月内完成,或者一个个人目标可以实现。这并不意味着你必须把整个月的时间只用于这个目标或项目,有时你必须处理更多困难的问题,例如,新软件的选择和安装或工作室的空间组织。在一个月内计划了三个这样的问题,你很难在其中任何一个问题上取得成功。但是,如果你把一个月的时间用于某项任务,很可能你会完成它或接近完成。考虑到这种每月的节奏,你会获得更大的满足。

此外,你应该考虑你的力量和精力在一周内如何分配。当然,例外情况是可能的,但大多数人能够在一个月内不超过两次旅行,而且不会失去节奏。还要考虑到安排聚会或请客的情感成本。所有这些都给你的生活带来了愉快的多样性,但却使你失去了节奏,特别是当例外变成了规则。

一周的节奏

项目、会议、必要的工作每周都在变化,但你应该把握好一周的节奏,这将是最适合你的活动。像设计师一样思考:创建一个草案,然后根据一定的项目(在这种情况下,工作周)修改你的时间表。

经过大量的实验,我为自己设定了以下完美的节奏。

  • 周一上午有几个 "入门 "时间,我专门用来制定每周计划和处理周末收集的信息。

  • 在周三下午,我完全忙于主要项目的工作。我整个星期都在忙于琐事,但当我需要专注于重要的工作时--比如说写书--最好能从会议中清出半天的时间。然后我就去我最喜欢的咖啡馆,心无旁骛地工作,没有任何休息。我应该注意到这里的两个主要优势:我的工作继续进行,同时我从日常工作中获得短暂的休息。

  • 在星期五的晚上为周末做准备。我花了大约三个小时来完成所有需要比我预期更多时间的工作,处理那些最好在周末前处理的付款和账单。

一周中至少有一个晚上是用来解决个人问题或休息的。我非常善于交际,但即使是外向型的人也需要时不时地休息一天。

当然,所有这些项目都可以在任何时候调换和调整。然而,我更喜欢这种节奏,因为它让我从所做的工作中获得最大的满足感,并在周末专门为我的家庭和休息而出发。

日子的节奏

从来没有人能够创造一个通用的日常日程表公式。有些人避免在早上检查电子邮件,有些人则建议做相反的事情。关键是要诚实地承认,对你个人来说,什么是分配24小时的最佳方式,以获得最大效率。

至于我,我把第一个小时或一个半小时用于计划我的一天,电子邮件和小的紧急任务,然后我专注于更困难的工作。从上午10点到11点,我回答客户的电话。我希望每天花在会议上的时间不超过四个小时,最后半个小时用来总结成果。我的一些客户喜欢在早上检查几分钟的电子邮件,然后专注于主要工作直到午餐。午休后,他们安排会议或处理紧急任务。

有必要指出你的个人偏好:什么时候你的注意力最集中,什么时候你安排会议最方便,什么时间应该专门用来处理复杂的信息和制定计划,向必要的方向发展。

更快的节奏

对自己要诚实--让自己花时间调整每日计划,否则你将总是 "落后于计划",并为你没有做的事情而懊悔。

例如,你最好在休假前一天和休假后一天把你的事情安排好,不要在这几天安排任何会议。如果你在另一个大型活动的会议后留出半天时间来加强个人联系,结识朋友并翻阅你的笔记,这将是正确的,这是获得过去活动的最大好处的唯一途径。 我的一个熟人曾经告诉我,在另一个城市的会议结束后,她更喜欢在早上飞回家,而不是在晚上。在酒店过夜让她有机会在回家之前完成所有的工作。请记住:活动越是与你正常的日常工作相悖,你就越需要时间来恢复你的正常工作节奏。

调整你每月、每周和每天的节奏,你将在工作中获得必要的秩序,并在做决定时获得尽可能多的必要灵活性。现在是你找出适合你个人的速度和节奏的时候了。

How to Plan your Day If You Are Against the Fixed Schedule

2017-10-23

Many creative people oppose any rules, reject the very idea of planning and as a result, their life loses the much-desired harmony.

If you are such a person and are not ready to deal with the routine, it is time to refuse the idea of organizing your time according to someone’s rules and improve your personal efficiency following your own creative tempo, life rhythm and its pulse.

The designer and author of books on design Stephen Bradley once observed: “Whether you know it or not, design always has its own internal rhythm. It brings meaning to space and creates the certain mood. It is through the rhythm people can appreciate the design.”

If this approach is familiar to you, I will share some ideas, which I acquired through my professional life and work experience as a time management coach. They will help you to distribute effectively the time you have as well as your power, interests and tasks.

The rhythm of the month

Usually a person manages to do more during a month if he or she doesn’t plan too much. Most people’s natural rhythm prompts that one big project can be finished or one personal goal can be achieved in a month. It doesn’t mean that you must dedicate the whole month only to this goal or project, sometimes you have to deal with more difficult issues, such as, for example, the choice and installation of the new software or space organization in the studio. Having planned three such issues for a month, you will hardly succeed in any of them. However, if you dedicate a month to one certain task, most probably you will finish it or be close to finishing. Take this monthly rhythm into consideration and you will gain greater satisfaction.

Besides, you should consider how your power and energy are distributed during the week. Exceptions, of course, are possible, but most people are able to make no more than two trips a month and not to lose the rhythm. Consider also the emotional costs of arranging parties or having guests. All these bring pleasant diversity into your life, but knock you off the rhythm, especially when an exception turns into a rule.

employeeThe rhythm of the week

Projects, meetings, necessary work change from week to week, but you should grasp the rhythm of the week which will be the most appropriate for your activities. Think like a designer: create a draft and then modify your schedule according to the certain project (in this case, the work week).

After a lot of experimenting I set up the following perfect rhythm for myself:

At least one evening during the week is dedicated to solving personal problems or rest. I am extremely sociable, but even extraverts need a day off from time to time.

Of course, all these items can be switched around and adjusted at any time. However, I prefer this rhythm because it lets me gain the maximum satisfaction from the work I do and set off for the weekend devoted to my family and rest.

The rhythm of the day

No one has ever been able to create a universal formula of the daily schedule. Some people avoid checking emails in the morning, others recommend doing quite the reverse. The point is to admit honestly, what is the best way to allocate the 24 hours for the maximum efficiency personally for you.

As for me, I dedicate the first hour or the hour and a half to planning my day, emails and small urgent tasks, then I focus on the more difficult work. From 10 to 11 am I answer clients’ calls. I prefer to spend no more than four hours a day on meetings and leave the last half an hour to summing up the results. Some of my clients prefer to check morning emails literally for a couple of minutes and then focus on the main work till the lunch. After the lunch break they arrange meetings or handle urgent tasks.

It is necessary to point out your personal preferences: when you are the most concentrated, when it is the most convenient for you to arrange meetings, and what time should be dedicated to processing complicated information and making plans to move in the necessary direction.

The faster rhythm

Be honest with yourself - let yourself spend time on adjusting the daily plan, otherwise you will always “run behind the schedule” and remorse the things you didn’t do.

For example, you would be wise to devote a day before your vacation and a day after it to get your affairs in order and not to appoint any meetings on these days. It will right, if you leave the half of the day after a conference of another big event to strengthening personal links, making acquaintances and looking through your notes - this is the only way to get the most of the past event.  One of my acquaintances once told me that after a conference in another city she prefers to fly home in the morning, not in the evening. The night in a hotel gives her an opportunity to finish all her work before getting back home. And remember: the brighter the event stands against your normal daily routine, the more time you will need to recover your normal working rhythm.

Adjust your monthly, weekly and daily rhythm and you will gain the necessary order in your work and as much necessary flexibility in making decisions. It is time for you to find out what tempo and rhythm are suitable personally for you.