(不)好的错误。员工应该和不应该被允许做什么

在一个快速发展的公司里,所有的过程都是非常动态的,这就是为什么犯错的可能性会更频繁出现。错误是决策的重要组成部分,没有错误意味着团队没有全力以赴地工作。一级方程式赛车最能说明做出最大努力的理念。在弯道中侧滑并不是完美的战术,但它是最大速度和争取最佳结果的一个标志。这是比赛的一个重要部分。但打滑导致的碰撞可能是致命的。商业也是如此:错误是必要的,完全没有错误是坏事而不是好事,但它们决不能成为关键。

公司的个别战略

每个公司都应该有一个单独的战略。这个战略的标准描述了在做决定时应该和不应该做什么。这可以防止一些错误,并客观地评估已经发生的错误。每个行动的重点在于其结果。在某些领域,这种结果很容易衡量。例如,销售的结果可以用金钱来衡量。市场营销和发展可能有点难以评估,但即使在那里也可以设置可衡量的任务。适当地设定任务是非常重要的--它们必须是可完成的,但要有价值,并与公司的财务计划相一致。有了可衡量的任务的正确设定,就很容易做出是否原谅已经犯下的错误(以及多久)的决定。

在某些情况下,任务由于某种原因暂时没有完成,或者其结果难以评估。在这些情况下,你可以评估这个人的活动。物质上可衡量的结果总是更好的,但没有一个,为之奋斗意味着很多,是一个很好的指标,可以预期很快会有结果。

Acronics的每个人,尤其是处于关键位置的人,必须具备一些特定的特征:警觉性、快速反应、关注细节、做决定的频率和速度、永不放弃的能力。其他公司可能需要另一份重要特征的清单。

与公司文化的对应是一个非常重要的因素,因为结果和活动要经过相当长的时间来衡量。这个人可能不会犯任何明显的错误,或者是不太明显的错误,但如果他或她不遵守公司的文化,对他或她的信任度会很低。

糟糕的错误

糟糕的错误

坏的错误可能包括,例如,对任务采取消极攻击的态度。在一个充满活力的企业中做决定时,什么是正确的往往并不明显。决策并不总是经过深思熟虑的,有争议的情况经常要出现。尽管如此,公司里的人必须同意,提出自己的解决方案,但同时也要能适当地接受其他人的建议。不公开反对任务,员工服从,名义上承担责任,但不实际执行任务,不为结果而奋斗,从而满足--有意或无意--他或她证明决定是错误的需要。这种错误实际上是一种破坏,很难长期允许。

还有一个糟糕的错误是试图限制员工的工作范围。在一个小企业,不是每个人都有精确的任务。很多时候,让公司受益的机会是给那些职责不包括它的人。成长中的企业的条件可以与军事条件相比。哨兵的任务是守卫和保护他或她的岗位。但如果在看守期间,另一名士兵注意到有人接近禁止的边界,而只是无视这种情况,其后果就不能用不是他或她的看守来解释。商业也是如此:如果你有机会参与到工作中去,帮助公司不要错过好机会,你必须抓住它。最不允许的错误发生在你不做的时候。

一个积极的人,产生的结果和与公司的文化相一致,当他或她犯错时,总是有更多的信任。然而,必须注意一个相同的错误的发生。如果这个人不学习,犯同样的错误,即使是小错误,但不断重复,这也是不好的。

一个人不应该从每个错误中学习,也不是每个错误都必须被允许。有些情况下,一个人犯错会带来灾难性的后果。我们总是鼓励热情和决心,但如果一个人承担起与普遍意见相悖的责任,他或她必须确信在关键情况下的积极结果。无论是信任,还是与公司文化的对应关系,还是高额的结果,都不能成为造成公司重大经济损失或严重法律后果的错误的借口。这样的错误更成为他或她个人的责任,有时不能不作出反应。即使是造成灾难性后果的无意错误也很难被忽视。

还有一个比较常见的造成不愉快和不可原谅的错误的原因是不负责任,破坏协议和简单的懒惰。这种态度不能被原谅,这种错误不能被接受为决策过程中不可避免的一部分。

对待错误的态度是每个公司战略的一部分。在我的公司,在评估员工的表现时,首先考虑的是结果,其次是活动,第三是与公司文化的对应性。错误会发生,这是必要的,甚至是必须的,但对错误的允许程度和容忍度取决于个人的动机、他或她的职位、职责以及错误的决定或正确的决定的不良结果所造成的经济或其他伤害的规模。

(No) Good Mistakes: What the Employees Should and Shouldn’t Be Allowed to Do

2017-10-30

In a quickly growing company all processes are very dynamic that is why the possibility of making a mistake appears more often. Mistakes are an important part of making decisions, and absence of them means that the team isn’t working at full strength. Formula One describes the best the idea of making the maximum efforts. Sideslipping of a bolide in the corners is not the perfect tactics, but it is a sign of the maximal speed and the struggle for the best result. It is an essential part of a race. But skidding leading to a crash can be fatal. The same is correct for business: mistakes are necessary, their complete absence is bad rather than good, but they must not become critical.

The individual strategy of the company

Every company should have an individual strategy. The criteria of this strategy describe what should and shouldn’t be done while making a decision. This allows to prevent some mistakes and assess the already made ones objectively. The point in every action is in its result. This result can be measured very easily in some spheres. For example, the result of sales is measured in money. Marketing and development can be a little harder to assess, but measurable tasks can be set even there. It is very important to set tasks appropriately - they must be accomplishable, but worthy and correspond to the financial plan of the company. With measurable tasks set correctly, it is easy to make decisions whether to forgive the already made mistakes (and for how long).

In certain cases, the tasks aren’t temporarily performed for some reason or their result is hard to assess. In these cases you can assess the person’s activity. The material measurable result is always better, but there is not one, the struggle for it means a lot and is a good indicator of that the result can be expected soon.

Every person in Acronics, especially the one on the key position, must possess a number of certain traits: alertness, rapid reaction, attention to details, frequency and speed of making decisions, the ability to never give up. Other companies may require another list of important characteristics.

Correspondence to the company’s culture is a very important factor because the result and activity are measured for quite a long period. The person may not make any noticeable mistakes or they may be not so obvious, but if he or she doesn’t comply with the company’s culture, trust in him or her can be very low.

employeeBad mistakes

Bad mistakes can include, for example, the passive-aggressive attitude towards tasks. While making decisions in a dynamic business, it is not often obvious what is right. Decisions are not always made with a lot of thought and consideration, controversial situations are often to appear. Nevertheless, people in the company must agree, suggest their own solutions but be able to accept other people’s suggestions properly at the same time. Not being openly against the assignment, the employee obeys, takes the responsibility nominally, but doesn’t actually perform the task, doesn’t struggle for the result, thus satisfying - deliberately or not - his or her need to prove that the decision was wrong. Such mistakes are in fact a form of sabotage which is hard to allow for long.

One more bad mistake is an attempt to limit the spheres of the employee’s efforts. In a small business, not everyone has precise tasks. Very often the opportunity to benefit the company is given to the person, whose duties do not include it. The conditions of a growing business can be compared to the military ones. The sentry’s mission is to guard and protect his or her post. But if during the watch another soldier notices people approaching the forbidden border and simply ignores the situation, the consequences cannot be explained by the fact that it was not his or her watch. The same is true for business: if you have a chance to get involved into work to help the company not to miss a good opportunity, you must take it. The most impermissible mistakes occur when you don’t do it.

An active person who yields results and corresponds with the culture of the company always has more trust when he or she makes mistakes. Nevertheless, the occurrence of one and the same mistake must be noticed. If the person doesn’t learn and makes the same mistakes, even small ones, but repeating constantly, it is not good as well.

One shouldn’t learn from every mistake and not every mistake must be allowed. There are situations when a person makes mistakes with disastrous consequences. We always encourage zeal and determination, but if a person takes the responsibility to contradict the common opinion, he or she must be sure in the positive result in a critical situation. Neither trust, nor correspondence to the company’s culture, nor high results can excuse the mistakes that caused critical economic losses or serious legal consequences for the company. Such mistakes become more of his or her individual responsibility and sometimes they cannot be left without a response. Even unintentional mistakes with catastrophic consequences are hard to ignore.

One more rather often cause of unpleasant and inexcusable mistakes is irresponsibility, breaking the agreements and simple laziness. Such attitude cannot be excused and such mistakes cannot be accepted as an inevitable part of the decision making process.

The attitude towards mistakes is a part of every company’s strategy. In my company while assessing the employee’s performance the first thing that counts is the result, the second is activity and the third is correspondence to the company’s culture. Mistakes happen, it is essential, they are even necessary, but the degree of their permissibility and tolerance towards them depends on the person’s motivation, his or her position, duties and the scale of economic or other harm made by the wrong decision or the bad result of the right decision.